In Pics: Team India players depart for Dubai to feature in the Asia Cup 2018

The 14th edition of Asia Cup is scheduled to be held in UAE from September 15.

Rohit Sharma will lead India in Asia Cup 2018 | Getty

After the gruelling England tour, Team India’s focus now shifts towards the 14th edition of Asia Cup, starting on Saturday (September 15) in UAE.

On Thursday (September 14), members of the Indian cricket team who were not part of the just-concluded Test series against England, departed for Dubai to feature in the Asia Cup.

Taking to Instagram, India’s wrist spinner Yuzvendra Chahal posted a selfie and informed the fans and followers about his next destination. Middle-order batsman Manish Pandey can also be spotted in the picture.



A post shared by Yuzvendra Chahal (@yuzi_chahal23) on

Chahal’s fellow spinner Kuldeep Yadav also shared a photograph along with the legendary MS Dhoni and captioned it as: “Enroute Dubai️ @mahi7781 bhai.”


Enroute Dubai✈️ @mahi7781 bhai.

A post shared by Kuldeep Yadav ???????? (@kuldeep_18) on

Kedar Jadhav, who is making his comeback to the ODI side after recovering from hamstring injury, looked pretty excited for the tournament. He posted a picture with teammates and wrote “Flying to Dubai for Asia cup” in the caption.


Flying to Dubai for Asia cup!!!!

A post shared by Kedar Jadhav (@kedarjadhavofficial) on

It is worth mentioning here that six Indian players – Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik Jasprit Bumrah and Shardul Thakur – will join the team in Dubai on September 16. All these six players were part of the England Test series that concluded on Tuesday (September 11).

Rohit Sharma will lead India in the 2018 Asia Cup in the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli. Considering the draining UK trip, the BCCI had decided to rest Kohli from the high-octane tournament.

India will begin its Asia Cup campaign against Hong Kong on September 18, a day before they face arch-rivals Pakistan.

India squad for Asia Cup 2018:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed


By Salman Anjum - 13 Sep, 2018

    Share Via