Asia Cup 2018: Mohammad Mithun ready to make most of his opportunity for Bangladesh

Mithun replaces Sabbir Rahman in the side.

Mohammad Mithun has been included in the Bangladesh squad for Asia Cup. (Dhaka Tribune)

With the Asia Cup 2018 inching closer to its start, all the teams are fine-tuning their permutations and combinations.  Out of favor batsman Mohammad Mithun who has been included in Bangladesh's 15 man squad for Bangladesh is ready to make the most of this given opportunity. 

Mithun will be replacing Sabbir Rahman who has been sidelined from the tournament by the board on disciplinary grounds. Mithun will not bat in his preferred position at the top due to the presence of Liton Das, his form with the bat is a good sign for his team. 

"He must seize this opportunity," Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz regarding Mithun. "It is true that he batted at the top but at the same time he can bat lower the order in the domestic arena. We considered him in the middle order at number six-seven position and he has scored a couple of fifties in the A team ODI series in Ireland."

Minhajul mentioned that Mithun's ability to handle the turning ball held him in good stead against predominantly spin-heavy attacks of Afghanistan and Sri Lanka, who Bangladesh are grouped within the first round of the Asia Cup. "The captain and coach asked for a middle order batsman who can play spin well. They mentioned his name and so we decided to include him," he added.

The wicketkeeper-batsman, who has been scoring consistently in the domestic circuit, made his comeback to the one-day side earlier this year, four years after being dropped since the series against India. 

Mithun said that he is ready to bat at any position for his team if given an opportunity. "For a batsman role in the team determines how we will approach and it is the same for me. I have batted at different positions in my life so it does not seem to be problem applying in different conditions" said Mithun. 

Bangladesh squad 

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Litton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony

(Inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Anshuman Roy - 31 Aug, 2018

    Share Via