Asia Cup 2018: Ticket sales announced for the 14th edition of Asia Cup

The 50-overs Asia Cup is scheduled to begin from September 15 with the final due to be played on the 28th.

India won the Asia Cup T20 in 2016. (Twitter)

Ticket sales for the much-awaited 14th edition Asia Cup have been announced by its organizers. It has been confirmed that the tickets will be available for purchase from Monday, August 20. 

The tournament, that is scheduled to be played from September 15th till 28th, will be played at the iconic United Arab Emirates(UAE) grounds like Dubai International Stadium and Abu Dhabi’s Zayed Cricket Stadium. 

Following the agreement signed between Shaikh Nahyan Bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, UAE’s Minister for Tolerance and Chairman of the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) and Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to stage the Asia Cup on behalf of BCCI, the preparations have finally been on course for the competition. 

The tickets are priced ranging from Dh20 to Dh750 for different stands, the idea behind the spectator friendly ticketing is to ensure as many people turn up for games as possible, which is absolutely admirable. 

Khalid Zarooni, vice-chairman of the ECB, is happy with the development and was quoted saying, “We are proud to host the 2018 Asia Cup in the UAE, which promises to be a thrilling festival of cricket with some of the world’s best players battling it out on the field. The game of cricket is hugely popular here in the UAE, and we are sure there will be a fantastic atmosphere in the stands as well as great entertainment on the field throughout the tournament.”

Tickets will also be available through online booking sites with Platinum list and can also be availed at retail outlets across UAE. 

The likelihood of India and Pakistan facing off thrice over two weeks is what has been termed as the biggest attraction of the tournament by its organizers, administrators and spectators alike. 

All the matches except the final will start from 3.30pm. 

Here are the fixtures:-

September 15: Dubai: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

Sept. 16: Dubai: Pakistan vs Qualifier

Sept. 17: Abu Dhabi: Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan

Sept. 18: Dubai: India vs Qualifier

Sept: 19: Dubai: India vs Pakistan

Sept. 20: Abu Dhabi: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan

Sept. 21: Dubai: Super 4: Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up

Sept. 23: Dubai: Super 4: Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up

Sept. 25: Dubai: Super 4: Group A Winner vs Group B Winner

Sept. 26: Abu Dhabi: Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up

Sept. 28: Dubai: Final Super4 1st vs 2 (from 1 pm)


(Inputs from Gulf News India)


By Kashish Chadha - 20 Aug, 2018

    Share Via