The call by the third umpire left Pakistan captain Fatima Sana furious.
India and Pakistan are facing each other in the sixth match of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2025 at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo on Sunday (October 5).
Invited to bat first, the Women in Blue posted 247/10 in their allotted 50 overs. Harleen Deol was the top scorer with 46 off 65 balls, while Richa Ghosh produced a gem of an unbeaten cameo (35* off 20) in the death overs.
In reply, Pakistan lost their first wicket on the last delivery of the fourth over in a dramatic fashion. Muneeba Ali was the batter to be dismissed, courtesy a direct hit from Deepti Sharma at the striker's end.
While facing Kranti Gaud, Muneeba was hit on the pads and the Indian players went for a big LBW appeal. Since wicketkeeper Richa wasn’t convinced, Harmanpreet Kaur didn’t opt for a review
During this time, the Pakistan opener was out of her crease and slowly made her way back. She was able to ground the bat at first, but as the ball hit the stumps, the willow was raised and her feet were out of the crease.
TV umpire Kerrin Klaaste had initially decided to go with the not out decision. However, Klaaste looked at the visuals once again and saw that Muneeba bat was in the air once the ball hit the stumps. This prompted her reverse the decision and the Pakistan opener was asked to walk back to the pavilion.
The call by the third umpire left Pakistan captain Fatima Sana furious. She came out of the dressing room to protest the decision with the fourth umpire. Fatima was seen in an animated chat with the official as Muneeba was near the boundary line. The entire Pakistan camp was shocked with the decision.
According to law 30.1 of the MCC laws, a batter shall be considered to be out of the ground unless some part of the batter or the bat is grounded behind the popping crease. However, the batter can be considered to be out of their ground if there is a loss of contact between the ground and any part of the batter or the bat.
30.1 A batter shall be considered to be out of her ground unless some part of her person or bat is grounded behind the popping crease at that end.
30.1.2 However, a batter shall not be considered to be out of her ground if, in running or diving towards her ground and beyond, and having grounded some part of her person or bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of her person or bat, or between the bat and person.