AUS v PAK 2019: Second T20I - Statistical Highlights

All the major stats and facts from the second T20I between Australia and Pakistan in Canberra.

Steve Smith's 80* runs knock powered Australia to a 7 wickets win over Pakistan in the second T20I. (photo - getty)

Australia beat Pakistan by 7 wickets in the second T20I match at Manuka Oval in Canberra yesterday and took a 1-0 lead in the series with one match to go.

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and opted to bat first but once again opener Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail and Mohammad Rizwan disappointed with bat and at 62/3 in 10 overs Pakistan were in deep trouble. Captain Babar Azam's 50 and Ifthikhar Ahmed's unbeaten 62 runs took Pakistan to a decent total 150/6 in 20 overs. 

In reply, David Warner and Aaron Finch gave a flying start and added 30 runs in no time, but on this occasion David Warner couldn't convert his start into a big knock and after one over Aaron Finch too joined him in the dressing room. Steven Smith took the charge in his hands and punished all Pakistan bowlers and his unbeaten 80 runs off 51 balls took his team to home in the 19th over. 

All the major stats and facts from the second T20I between Australia and Pakistan in Canberra

1 - David Warner was dismissed for the first time in this home season. It was his fifth match and before this match his scores in this home season were - 2*, 57*, 60* and 100*. 

6 - Australia have won 6 of the 7 T20Is they played this year and the remaining one T20I ended in a no result. 

12 - Number of fifty plus scores Babar Azam has made in T20I cricket - the most by any Pakistan batsman.

Most fifty plus scores for Pakistan in T20Is -

12 - Babar Azam

10 - Mohammad Hafeez

8 - Ahmad Shahzad / Umar Akmal 

7 - Shoaib Malik 

5 - Kamran Akmal 

37 - Number of wickets Mitchell Starc has taken in T20I cricket - the joint third most for Australia.

Most T20I wickets for Australia -

48 - Shane Watson

42 - Mitchell Johnson

37 - Mitchell Starc / Andrew Tye 

36 - James Faulkner

34 - Nathan Coulter Nile 

80* - Steve Smith's 80* is the second highest individual score for Australia against Pakistan in T20Is.

Highest individual scores for Aus against Pak in T20Is -

81 - Shane Watson at Gros Islet, 2010

80* - Steve Smith at Canberra, 2019

76 - D'Arcy Short at Harare, 2018 

1601 - Runs Babar Azam has scored in T20 cricket this year so far - the third most runs in a calendar year in T20 cricket.

Most T20 runs in a calendar year -

1665 - Chris Gayle, 2015

1614 - Virat Kohli, 2016

1601* - Babar Azam, 2019

1532 - Chris Gayle, 2012

1530 - Colin Munro, 2018 


By Jasveer Singh Kharra - 06 Nov, 2019

    Share Via