New Zealand cricketers poke fun at ICC's belated boundary count rule change

Black Caps were at the receiving end of ICC's boundary count rule in the World Cup 2019 final against England.

New Zealand players were inconsolable after the eventual outcome in the World Cup final | Getty

New Zealand were at the receiving end of ICC tie-breaker rules in the World Cup 2019 final against England at Lord’s on July 14.

The two teams had posted 241 in their allotted 50 overs before the game went into the Super Over where once again they levelled tie.

Chasing 16 in the Super Over, Black Caps had managed 15 but the hosts were declared winner on the basis of boundary count. While Kane Williamson and company had struck 17 boundaries in total, England were far more superior in that department, having smashed 22 boundaries.

Read More: ICC scraps boundary count rule for knockout matches at ICC events

After a lot of outrage in the cricketing fraternity, the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday (October 14) scrapped the controversial boundary count rule.

"In group stages, if the Super Over is tied, the match will be tied. In Semi Finals and Finals, there is one change to the Super Over regulation in keeping with the basic principle of scoring more runs than the opponent to win, the Super Over will be repeated until one team has more runs than the other," ICC said in a media release.

Although the new law came as a huge relief for the fans and experts alike, some Kiwi cricketers couldn’t stop mocking the governing body for the belated Super Over rule change.

"Next on the agenda: Better binoculars for the ice spotters on the Titanic," all-rounder Jimmy Neesham wrote on his official Twitter page.

Akin to Neesham, former New Zealand batting coach Craig McMillan also vented his frustration on ICC.  

"Bit late ICC," McMillan tweeted before drawing attention to another controversial moment when England were given four bonus runs during the final.

Read Also: Kumar Dharmasena admits messing up the overthrow decision in the final

With England needing 9 runs from the last three balls, New Zealand opener Martin Guptill threw the ball from deep square leg which accidentally hit the outstretched bat of a diving Ben Stokes and went to the boundary. In total, the hosts were awarded six runs – four for the resulting boundary and two for the batsmen’s running between the wickets.

Following the match, some experts including former umpire Simon Taufel had opined that Dharmasena made ‘an error of judgment’ in applying an unclear clause in the MCC’s laws and England should have been awarded five runs instead of six.

In fact, Dharmasena had also accepted his mistake but he didn't regret the decision.


By Salman Anjum - 15 Oct, 2019

    Share Via