WATCH: Harsha Bhogle picks his ODI XI of the year 2018

Harsha named maximum Indian players in his XI of this year.

Ben Stokes misses out of Harsh Bhogle's XI for 2018 | ANTHONY DEVLIN/AFP/Getty Images

Indian limited-overs opener Rohit Sharma scored 1030 runs this year with an average of 73.57, his best in a year till now. He scored 5 hundred this year and remained not out in five innings out of 19. Not to forget, Rohit is also the second highest run-scorer this year. 

Cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle picked up his ODI XI of the year and the first name which came in his mind was Rohit. The numbers completely justify his inclusion.

Harsha had a bit of confusion picking Rohit's opening partner. From Jonny Bairstow and Shikhar Dhawan, Bhogle went with the latter because Rohit and Shikhar are batting partner. 

Without any second thought, he further picked Virat Kohli for number three position followed by Joe Root for number 4. Kohli is the highest scorer this year with 1202 runs and an average of 133.55. Root also has numbers to back his inclusion. He scored 946 runs this year.

Another Englishmen Jos Buttler made it into the XI. For all-around position, Bangladesh cricketer Shakib Al Hasan was added.

The number seven position had a little battle between West Indies' Jason Holder and Sri Lanka's Thisara Perera. In the end, Perera was included.

Harsha found it easy to pick spinners for his team. Rashid Khana and Kuldeep Yadav have had a great year with the ball and there was no competition. 

Among Mustafizur Rahman, Lungi Nigidi, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kagiso Rabada, Bhogle picked up last two to come good with the ball.

Here is the full team:
Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Shakib Al Hasan, Thisara Perera, Rashid Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Kagiso Rabada and Jasprit Bumrah



By Sihyeu Singh - 27 Dec, 2018

    Share Via