Ranji Trophy 2017/18: Delhi, Karnataka, Vidarbha and Bengal qualify for semi-finals

Ranji roundup of the Quarterfinal stage.

Karnataka skipper R Vinay Kumar took his team into semis with a hat-trick

Ranji Trophy 2017/18 has finally moved into its penultimate phase with quarterfinals matches ending.

The four semi-finalists have been finalized as Bengal, Karnataka, Vidarbha and Delhi qualified for the last four spots and will now face each other in semifinals starting from December 17th. Here is a recap of the four quarterfinal matches.


Bengal batted Gujarat out of the game after scoring 354 in their 1st innings. AR Eswaran scored 129, while Anustup Majumdar made 94. Ishwar Chaudhary took 5/87. Gujarat replied with 224, with BH Merai making 67.

AR Eswaran

Bengal scored 695/6 in their second innings with Eswaran making 114, Majumdar making 132* and Writtick Chatterjee making 216. Aamir Ghani (53*) and Manoj Tiwary (59) contributed as well, as Bengal proceeded in the semis with first innings lead.

AR Eswaran got the Man of the match for his twin centuries.

BEN 354 & 695/6
GUJ 224

Match Drawn Bengal took first innings lead (Qualified)


HS Bhatia’s 107* and Ankit Dane’s 59 took MP to 338 despite Manan Sharma’s 4/46. Delhi replied with 405 as Kunal Chandela made 81, Dhruv Shorey made 78 and Himmat Singh made 71. Mihir Hirwani took 5/89.

Harpreet Singh Bhatia

MP replied with 283 in 2nd innings with Puneet Datey making 60 and HS Bhatia making 78, with Vikas Mishra taking 4/59. Delhi got the required total with 7 wickets in hand, with Gautam Gambhir making 95  and Kunal Chandela making 57. Delhi moved on to the semis of Ranji trophy.

Harpreet Singh Bhatia got the Man of the match.

MP 338 & 283
DEL 405 & 217/3

Delhi Won by 7 Wickets (Qualified)


Kerala’s Akshay KC’s 5/66 restricted Vidarbha to 246 in 1st innings with AV Wadkar topscoring with 53. However RN Gurbani’s 5/38 reduced Kerala to 176 in reply with Jalaj Saxena scoring 40.

Faiz Fazal

Vidarbha scored 507/9d with Fazal (119), AV Wankhede (107) and AV Wadkar (67*) scoring the bulk of runs. Akshay KC took 4/118 to take 9 wickets in the match.

Kerala needed 577 runs to win the match, but AA Sarvate’s 6/41 reduced them to 165 to win the match for Vidarbha by 412 runs. Salman Nazir scored 64 to save face for Kerala.

RN Gurbani won the Man of the match, as Vidarbha moved into the semifinals.

VID 246 & 507/9d
KER 176 & 165

Vidarbha Won by 412 Runs (Qualified)


Karnataka skipper R Vinay Kumar took a hat-trick and 6/34 to reduce Mumbai to 173. Dhawal Kulkarni scored 75 to save some face for Mumbai.

Karnataka replied with 570 with Shreyas Gopal making 150*, Mayank Agarwal making 78, and CM Gautam making 79. Shivam Dube took 5/98 on his debut.

Shreyas Gopal

Though Surya Kumar Yadav made 108 and Akash Parkar made 65, with Shivam Dube hitting 71, Mumbai could only make 377 to lose the match by an innings and 20 runs. K Gowtham took 6/104.

Karnataka moved into the semis and R Vinay Kumar won the Man of the match.

KAR 570
MUM 173 & 377

Karnataka Won by an innings and 20 Runs (Qualified)



By Jatin Sharma - 11 Dec, 2017

    Share Via