IND v SA 2022: WATCH – ‘Always a privilege and honour’, KL Rahul reacts on being named India’s captain for T20I series

KL Rahul will lead the team in the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma.

KL Rahul | GettyBCCI’s selection panel on Sunday (May 22) announced Team India’s 18-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against South Africa.

KL Rahul will lead the team in the absence of Rohit Sharma, who has been rested along with senior members, including Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami.

On his appointment as captain, Rahul expressed his delight in a video posted by his IPL franchise Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) on Twitter.

“It is always a privilege and honour to lead your country. Very happy about getting this opportunity once again, looking forward to it. But for now, my heart is here with Lucknow Super Giants. We have the knockouts coming in two days, so I am switched on about that. I want to win this IPL trophy and then give myself a couple of days break and then think about the Indian team” Rahul said.

The KL Rahul-led side finished the IPL 2022 league stage in the third position and they will face Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the Eliminator on May 25 at the Eden Gardens.

Rahul will lead India in the T20I series against South Africa, starting June 9 while Rishabh Pant has been named vice-captain of the team.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya and wicketkeeper-batter Dinesh Karthik also earned recalls to the Indian T20I squad while left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh received his maiden call-up along with SRH’s pace sensation Umran Malik.

India Squad for South Africa T20I Series:

KL Rahul (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(vc & wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Akshar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.


By Salman Anjum - 22 May, 2022

    Share Via