Mithali Raj’s 74* leads India Women to 2-1 series win over England Women

India women won the three WODI series 2-1.

Amy Jones scored a brilliant 94 | ICC Twitter

India Women and England women were tied 1-1 in the 3 match ODI series with the decider played on April 12 at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

England women captain Heather Knight won the toss and elected to bat first. Keeper Amy Jones hit 94 off 119 balls with 7 fours and 1 six. Knight contributed with 36, as the rest of team fell apart against the disciplined Indian bowling. Danielle Wyatt scored 17 as apart from Knight and Jones; no one batswomen crossed the 20 run mark. England Women ended up making 201/9 in 50 overs.

Deepti Sharma picked up 2 wickets | ICC Twitter

Jhulan Goswami (2/39), Rajeshwari Gayakwad (2/32), Deepti Sharma (2/35) and Poonam Yadav (2/47) were the best bowlers for Indian Women.

In the chase, India lost Jemimah Rodrigues for 2 runs and Veda Krishnamurthy for 7 runs. However, Smriti Mandhana scored 53 off 67 balls before retiring hurt. Then it was the Mithali Raj 74*(9 fours) and Deepti Sharma 54*(9 fours and 1 six) show, as the duo added 179* runs for the 3rd wicket. Anya Shrubsole picked both the Indian wickets to fall.

India registered a comfortable 8 wickets win in the 46th over, as they reached 202/2. India also won the three matches WODI series 2-1.

ENG-W 201/9 (A JONES 94, R GAYAKWAD 2/32) lost to IND-W 202/2 in 45.2 overs (M RAJ 74*, A SHRUBSOLE 2/37) by 8 wickets


By Jatin Sharma - 12 Apr, 2018

    Share Via