Deodhar Trophy 2018: Karnataka razes India A thanks to Deshpande, Samarth and Gowtham

Shreyas Gopal picked two wickets and Ronit More picked three wickets for Karnataka.

Unmukt Chand hit 81 in IND-A chase

India A and Karnataka met in the third match of the Deodhar Trophy 2018. Karnataka won the toss and decided to bat first.

Mayank Agarwal (22) and Karun Nair (35) gave Karnataka a good start. But it was R Samarth (85 off 87 balls with 8 fours and 1 six) and Pavan Deshpande (95 off 87 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes) and their 131 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket that put Karnataka on a path of a big score.

Stuart Binny hit 37* in 24 balls and CM Gautam hit 49* off 26 balls with 4 sixes to take Karnataka to 339/4 in 50 overs. Mohd Shami took 2/96 in 10 overs for India A.

K Gowtham picked four wickets

Unmukt Chand’s 81 off 70 balls with 14 fours and Shaw’s 40 at the top set up a good platform for the India A batting to chase down the target. Shubman Gill made 25, Ankeet Bawane hit 22 and Ishan Kishan showed his mettle with 73 in 62 balls with 10 fours and 1 six.

However Ronit More (3/64) and K Gowtham (4/52) removed the settled middle order to put brakes on the India A chase. India A was bowled out for 274 runs in the end.

Karnataka won their second straight match by 65 runs.


KAR 339/4 (P DESHPANDE 95, R SAMARTH 85; M Shami 2/96) defeated IND-A 274 (U CHAND 81; K GOWTHAM 4/52) by 65 runs


By Jatin Sharma - 06 Mar, 2018

    Share Via