India Women defeat SA women by 54 runs to win T20I series 3-1; create history

India women had already won the ODI series against South Africa women.

Jemimah Rodrigues batted brilliantly | Twitter

India Women and South African Women met in the 5th and final T20I at Cape Town to decide the fate of the series.

South Africa women won the toss and put India into bat. Smriti Mandhana set the tempo with 13 runs with 3 fours and then it was Mithali Raj (62 in 50 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes) and the young Jemimah Rodrigues (44 in 34 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes) who added 98 runs for the second wicket; who put India on a course of 160 plus total.

Skipper Harmanpreet Kaur hit 27 in 17 balls with 2 big sixes and 1 fours as India finished up on 166/4 in 20 overs.

India had to take quick wickets to put South African women under pressure and Lizelle Lee (3), Sune Luus (5), Dane van Niekerk (10) and Mignon du Preez (17) fell in quick succession to leave South African women 44/5. Chloe Tryon (25) and Marizanne Kapp (27) tried to pull it back for the team, but it was too much, too late for them.

For India, Shikha Pandey (3/16), Rumeli Dhar (3/26) and Rajeshwari Gayakwad (3/26) were the best bowlers, as they didn’t let the opposition batting dominate them. Jemimah Rodrigues also picked a beauty of a catch of Kapp.

Mithali Raj won her third Player of the Match award of the series for her fifty and also won the Player of the Series award.

South Africa folded for 112 and India won the match by 54 runs and also created history by winning their first T20I series outside India. They had also won the ODI series against South Africa before the T20I series.

IND-W 166/4 (M RAJ 62, J RODRIGUES 44) beat SA-W 112 (M KAPP 27; S PANDEY 3/16) by 54 runs.

India Women won the 5 match T20I series 3-1.


By Jatin Sharma - 24 Feb, 2018

    Share Via