COC Predicted Indian squad for the Nidahas T20 tri-series 2018 in Sri Lanka

Nidahas T20 Trophy will be played from March 6th- March 18th, 2018

Rohit Sharma might lead India if Virat Kohli is rested in Nidahas Trophy

Team India’s next assignment after the South Africa tour will be a trip to neighbors Sri Lanka, where they will participate in the tri-nation T20I tournament involving hosts Sri Lanka and Bangladesh as the third team.

Team India are coming off a relatively successful limited overs leg of the South African tour, where they won the six match ODI series 5-1 and won the first T20I of the three match series.

With a two month long tour of the rainbow nation, the BCCI selectors might be tempted to give some key players rest before the IPL 2018 begins on April 7, 2018. On top of that list is Indian captain Virat Kohli and fast bowling duo Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

These three players have been playing constantly since the start of South African tour and will be key players for their franchises in the IPL and require adequate rest.

KL Rahul and Manish Pandey

Circle of Cricket brings to you the Indian squad for the Nidahas T20 tri-series 2018.

In absence of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma might once again captain the team and also open in the tournament. He might be partnered by Karnataka's Mayank Agarwal, who topped the batting charts in Ranji Trophy and has been a prolific Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy and Vijay Hazare trophy as well.

KL Rahul and Suresh Raina will provide solidarity to the middle order of the team along with Manish Pandey. Pandey has been in good form so far in the two T20Is against Proteas. In absence of Dhawan and Kohli, Shreyas Iyer may also be drafted in the team and can bat at the top of the order.

Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal | Getty

The spin department will be in hands of Akshar Patel and the spin twins Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. All the three spinners have a brilliant record in T20 format and will be an asset to the team.

With both Bhuvneshwar and Bumrah being tipped to be rested for the tri-series; the fast bowling unit will be helmed by Mohd Shami and Jaydev Unadkat, whose experience in the format is world renowned. They will be aided by Mohd Siraj, who had a very good domestic One-Day and t20 tournament for Hyderabad and Shardul Thakur, who took his career best ODI figures in the final ODI against South Africa.

Mohd Shami will get to lead the Indian bowling contingent after a long time | Getty

The Nidahas T20 Trophy will be played from March 6th- March 18th, 2018 and it will celebrate the 70 anniversary of Sri Lanka’s independence.

COC Predicted Indian Squad for Nidahas T20 tri-series 2018:
Rohit Sharma (c), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (WK), Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd Siraj, Mohd Shami

By Jatin Sharma - 23 Feb, 2018

    Share Via