Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Summary of matches on 6th February

Results summary of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018.

Indian domestic cricket’s premier One-Day competition, the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 went underway on 5th February with all the domestic teams participating for the crown of One-Day champions. The teams are divided into four groups and top two teams from each of the groups will qualify for the QFs.

Here is the summary for matches on 6th Feb:


Swapnil Asnodkar

Tamil Nadu batted first and scored 210 runs. M Vijay hit 51 and Baba Aparajith hit 52 with Kaushik Gandhi making 43, as TN batting crumbled against disciplined Goa bowling. Darshan Misal picked 3/42 and Srinivas Fadte took 3/51 for Goa.

Swapnil Asnodkar hit a brilliant 103 in 112 balls with 2 sixes and 9 fours in the chase. He got terrific support from captain Sagun Kamat who made 38, as Goa successfully chased down the total with 6 wickets in the hand.  R Ashwin picked 2/30, while opening the bowling.

TN 210 lost to GOA 211/6 by 4 wkts


Shahnawaz Hussain

Services’ captain Rahul Gehlaut’s 91 in 79 balls with 5 fours and 4 sixes was the highlight of Services’ total of 219 runs. Nakul Verma took contributed 43 runs to the total. CG’s Shahnawaz Hussain was the main wicket taker with figures of 6/44.

Shashank Chandrakar’s 70 in 84 balls with 5 sixes and 4 fours and Sahban Khan’s 52* were the main innings in CG’s chase of 220 runs. Though Diwesh Pathania took 2/43 and AA Bamal took 2/26, CG reached their target with 4 wickets in hand in the 49th over.

CG 221/6 def SER 219 by 4 wkts


Ganesh Satish

G Satish hit 94 in Vidarbha’s innings of 245; batting first against J&K. JM Sharma hit 41 while opening the innings, as J&K bowlers kept the pressure on the Vidarbha batting. Umar Nazir took 3/41 and Ram Dayal and Parvez Rasool took 2 wickets each.

J&K’s chase didn’t get off to a good start as SB Wagh removed both the openers for 16 runs on the board. After that, J&K batting struggled to recover, as SB Wagh (3/26), Umesh Yadav (2/30) and YR Thakur (2/33) routed them for 172 runs. Only Bandeep Singh (53) and Ram Dayal (55) could stand upto Vidarbha bowlers.

VID 245 def J&K 172 by 73 runs


Hanuma Vihari

MP batted first and scored a paltry 184 with Anshul Tripathi top scoring with 39 and Rajat Patidar making 34. Girinath Reddy picked 6/24 for Andhra. Andhra batting achieved the target in 39th over. Hanuma Vihari made 61, Ashwin Hebbar made 42, Ricky Bhui made 32* and Ravi Teja made 33* in the chase.

ANDH 190/4 def MP 184 by 6 wkts


Siddhesh Lad

Mumbai batted first against Gujarat and put up 317/8 in 50 overs. Siddhesh Lad hit 129 in 125 balls with 11 fours and 4 sixes and Aditya Tare hit 51 to put Mumbai in a strong position. Ishwar Chaudhary picked 3/46 for Gujarat.

Gujarat chase started on a good note with Priyank Panchal hitting 89 in 96 balls with 2 sixes and 7 fours and BH Merai hit 64 in 63 balls. However, Roystan Dias picked 4/64 and Shivam Malhotra and Dhawal Kulkarni took 2 wickets each to stem the flow of runs and Gujarat was bowled out for 276 in 48th over.

MUM 317/8 def GUJ 276 by 41 runs


Rohit Rayudu

Hyderabad batted first and scored 333/7 in 50 overs. Rohit Rayudu hit 126i n 135 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes. He was supported by B Sandeep who made 69 with 10 fours and captain Akshath Reddy followed up on his century with 75 runs in 73 balls.

Jharkhand’s chase was shouldered by captain Ishan Kishan’s 51 and Saurabh Tiwary’s 49, with Atul Sarwar hitting an unbeaten 58, but the target was too far away for them. Hyderabad won the match by 66 runs.

HYD 333/7 def JHKD 267 by 66 runs


By Jatin Sharma - 06 Feb, 2018

    Share Via