Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Summary of matches on 5th February

Results summary of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018.

Indian domestic cricket’s premier One-Day competition, the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 went underway today with all the domestic teams participating for the crown of One-Day champions. The teams are divided into four groups and top two teams from each of the groups will qualify for the QFs.

Here is the summary for matches on 5th Feb:


Hanuma Vihari

Chetan Bist topscored for Rajasthan with 82 and got support from SF Khan who made 58. Rajasthan could muster 229/6 against Andhra. B Ayyappa took 3/57 in 10 overs for Andhra. It was a low total and Andhra chased it down with ease, losing just 4 wickets in the process. B Sumanth remained unbeaten on 71 in 52 balls; while captain Hanuma Vihari scored 49.

RAJ 229/6 lost to AND 235/4 by 6 wkts


A Easwaran

Bengal batted first and scored 239/9 in 50 overs against Maharashtra. A Easwaran hit 103 in 114 balls with 12 sixes and captain Manoj Tiwary hit 80* in 76 balls. AA Sanklecha (2/39), SS Bachav (2/48) and SS Mundhe (2/84) were the main wicket takers for Maharashtra.

Maharashtra chased down the total with 4 overs to spare, as captain Rahul Tripathi hit 125* in 102 balls with 12 fours and 4 sixes. RD Gaikwad hit 77 and NS Shaikh hit 37* to take Maharashtra to the win by 7 wickets.

BEN 293/9 lost to MAH 294/3 by 7 wkts


Sheldon Jackson

Sheldon Jackson’s 106 with 14 fours and 2 sixes was the highlight of Saurashtra’s innings of 286/7. Cheteshwar Pujara hit 60 to give Jackson company. Saurashtra ended up with 286/7 in 50 overs. Pankaj Rao with figures of 2/46 was the pick of the bowlers for Chhattisgarh.

 Chhattisgarh tried their best to chase the total. Manoj Singh hit 58 and VS Kushwah hit 51; but DA jadeja’s 4/41 and SM Sanandia’s 3/53 were enough for Saurashtra to win the match by 32 runs.

SAU 286/7 def CG 254/9 by 32 runs


Unmukt Chand

Unmukt Chand hit 116 and H Dalal hit 57, as the Delhi openers added 107 for the first wicket in the total of 307/6. Umang Sharma’s 102 with 7 fours and 3 sixes was the cornerstone of UP’s chase, along with Akshdeep Nath’s 54; however Kulwant Khejroliya’s 4/34 and Pradeep Sangwan’s 3/28 kept UP to 252 and won the match for Delhi by 55 runs.

DEL 307/6 def UP 252 by 55 runs


Vijay Shankar

KM Gandhi (127) and V Shankar (100) took TN to 311/8 in 50 overs against Gujarat. CT Gaja took 3/61 for Gujarat. BH Merai hit 101 and PK Panchal hit 42 runs in the chase, but the middle and lower order failed to take Gujarat to the finishing line. TN won the match by 76 runs. A Ashwin Christ took 3/44, while R Ashwin (2/38) and W Sundar (2/35) were star bowlers for TN.

TN 311/8 def GUJ 235 by 76 runs


Yashpal Singh’s 113 from 127 balls with 15 fours and 1 six, along with RA Dey’s 47 were the highest scores in Tripura’s 229/9. PP Jaiswal (3/36), VK Galetiya (3/21) and Rishi Dhawan (3/58) distributed the wickets for HP.

For HP, Amit Kumar hit 101* with 11 fours and Sumeet Verma hit 55 runs to ensure that the team reached the target losing just 4 wickets.

TRI 229/9 lost to HP 230/4 by 6 wkts


Akshath Reddy

Hyderabad Captain Akshath Reddy scored 127 in 116 balls with 3 sixes and 10 fours and got support from A Bhandari (47) and K Sumanth (56 off 26 balls with 4 sixes and 3 fours). Hyderabad reached 329/5 in 50 overs.

However, Mohd Siraj demolished Services batting with 5/45; with only G Rahul Singh making 64 and couple of thirties from HR Sethi and S Yadav. Services were bowled out for 201 and lost the match by 128 runs.

HYD 329/5 def SER 201 by 128 runs


R Sanjay

JM Sharma’s 79, AV Wankhade’s 51 and R Sanjay’s 77 were the top scores for Vidarbha’s inning of 300 runs against Jharkhand. R Shukla took 4/52. Jharkhand gave the target a tough chase with Saurabh Tiwary making 65, K Deobrat making 60 and Vikash Singh swinging the long handle for 59* in 37 balls. But Vidarbha bowling managed to keep Jharkhand 7 runs short of the target. YS Thakur (2/45) and RN Gurbani (2/52) were the pick of Vidarbha bowlers.

VID 300 def JHK 293/7 by 7 runs


Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav hit 134 * in 85 balls with 11 fours and 7 sixes and along with Jay Bista’s 90 and A. Herwadkar’s 49, took Mumbai to 332/5 in 50 overs. AB Tripathi made 67 and PM Datey made 43, but the total was a long way away thanks to Mumbai bowlers. Shams Mulani picked 4/62 and DU Matkar picked 3/50 to keep MP to 258. Mumbai won by 74 runs.

MUM 332/5 def MP 258 by 74 runs


By Jatin Sharma - 05 Feb, 2018

    Share Via