Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018: 24th January – Karun hits 100, Lomror and Raina shine with bat; UP, Rajasthan, Bengal win

Results summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2018.

Indian domestic cricket’s premier T20 tournament, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018 has reached the super league stage of the tournament. This super league will feature the top 10 teams divided into 2 groups and playing against each other.

Here is the summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018, Super League matches:

KARNATAKA 201/4 beat JHARKHAND 78 by 123 runs

Karun Nair hit 100

Karun Nair hit 100 in 52 balls with 8 fours and 7 sixes and Pavan Deshpande hit 56 off 29 balls with 6 fours and 1 six to take Karnataka to 201/4 against Jharkhand. With a big score to chase, Jharkhand batting fell apart badly, as four of Karnataka bowlers took 2 wickets each and Jharkhand was bowled out for 78 runs in 14.2 overs.

MUMBAI 158/8 lost to RAJASTHAN 175/6 by 17 runs

Mahipal Lomror’s 74 off 55 balls and a couple of scores of 40 odd runs by CD Bist (41) and TN Dhillon (43) took Rajasthan to 175/6 in 20 overs. Dhawal Kulkarni took 3/35 in his 4 over spell.

Mahipal Lomror

Akhil Herwadkar made 68 off 51 balls to give Mumbai a good start, but then things fell apart with only Jay Bista (29) and Surya Kumar Yadav (39) reached double figures and Mumbai could only reach 158/8. Deepak Chahar continued his good form with the ball and picked 3/27. Rajasthan won the match by 17 runs.

TAMIL NADU 129/9 lost to BENGAL 134/3 by 7 wkts

Sudip Chatterjee

Anirudha hit 37 and Vijay Shankar hit 27 as TN mustered 129/9. Kanishk Sheth took 3/26 and Aamir Ghani took 2/16 for Bengal. Bengal lost Shreevats Goswami for a duck, but Sudip Chatterjee hit 51* in 47 balls and Writtick Chatterjee hit 44 in 32 balls to take Bengal to a win by 7 wickets.

BARODA 192/3 lost to UTTAR PRADESH 195/3 by 7 wkts

Baroda and UP played a high scoring encounter at Eden Gardens. Urvil Patel hit 96 in 54 balls with 12 fours and 4 sixes. Deepak Hooda hit 45 in 25 balls and Kedar Devdhar hit 37 in 32 balls, as Baroda hit 192/3 in 20 overs.

UP's Umang Sharma

UP’s Umang Sharma hit 95 in 47 balls with 10 fours and 5 sixes and he was aided by skipper Suresh Raina (56 in 47 balls) and Rinku Singh (26* off 11 balls) as UP chased down the total with 7 wickets in hand and in the 19th over.



By Jatin Sharma - 24 Jan, 2018

    Share Via