Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018: 22nd January- Suresh Raina hits ton, Bengal loses again; Punjab, Delhi continue winning streak

Results summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2018.

Indian domestic cricket’s premier T20 tournament, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018 has reached the super league stage of the tournament. This super league will feature the top 10 teams divided into 2 groups and playing against each other.

Here is the summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018, Super League matches:

DELHI 143/8 won against BARODA 140/8 by 2 wkts

Dhruv Shorey

Kedar Devdhar hit 77 in 53 balls with 11 fours and 1 six and Vishnu Solanki hit 21 as Baroda wasted a good start to score 140/8. Subodh Bhati of Delhi took 4/20 to do the most damage. Delhi too started badly, losing Pant for a duck. But Dhruv Shorey hit 74 in 56 balls with 8 fours and 2 sixes. While LI Meriwala took 4/24 to dismiss the middle order of Delhi team, Pradeep Sangwan hit 23* in 12 balls to take Delhi to a 2 wickets win.

UTTAR PRADESH 235/3 won against BENGAL 160 by 75 runs

Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina scored his 4th T20 ton, hitting 126* in 59 balls with 13 fours and 7 sixes; and along with Akshdeep Nath (80 off 43 balls with 7 fours and 4 sixes) added 163 runs for the 3rd wicket to take Uttar Pradesh to 235/3. Mukesh Kumar proved to be the most expensive bowler for Bengal, giving away 63 runs in 4 overs.

Shreevats Goswami hit 57 and Sudip Chatterjee hit 36, but the total proved to be too much for Bengal as they tumbled to 160 all out. Kuldeep Yadav took 4/26, including three wickets in one over and was aided by Mohsin Khan, who took 3/35.  UP won the match by 75 runs.

PUNJAB 199/7 won against MUMBAI 198/4 by 3 wkts

Shreyas Iyer

Mumbai batted first and scored 199/7 with Shreyas Iyer (79* off 44 balls with 8 fours and 4 sixes) and Akhil Herwadkar (42 off 36 balls) making the most runs for them. Punjab’s chase was based on Manan Vohra’s 42 off 31 balls and Gurkeerat Mann’s 43 off 18 balls, with 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Yuvraj Singh hit 40 in 34 balls with 2 sixes and 2 fours, while Sharad Lumba hit 21 off 10 balls to take Punjab to the win with 3 wickets in hand. Shivam Dube took 3/27 and had scored 22 off 12 balls beforehand.

JHARKHAND 157/5 lost to RAJASTHAN 158/6 by 4 wkts

Aditya Garhwal

Virat Singh hit 43 in 28 balls and Ishan Kishan hit 39 in 36 balls taking Jharkhand to 157/5 in 20 overs. Aditya Garhwal took 2/15 and DL Chahar took 2/35 for Rajasthan.

Aditya Garhwal hit 43 off 40 balls and SF Khan hit 34 off 23 balls to put Rajasthan into command. But it came to Deepak Chahar, who made 20* in 13 balls to take Rajasthan to win with 4 wickets in hand. Varun Aaron took 2/24 to keep Jharkhand in the game.


By Jatin Sharma - 22 Jan, 2018

    Share Via