Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018: Punjab, Mumbai and Delhi start off with wins in Super League stage; Bengal loses to Baroda

Results summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2018.

Indian domestic cricket’s premier T20 tournament, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018 has reached the super league stage of the tournament. This super league will feature the top 10 teams divided into 2 groups and playing against each other.

Here is the summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018, Super League matches on 21st Jan:

DELHI 146/2 beat TAMIL NADU 145/7 by 8 wkts

Nitish Rana put the finishing touches to the Delhi win

Tamil Nadu batted first and scored 145/7 with captain Vijay Shankar making 57* off 48 balls with 4 fours and 3 sixes. He got help from Baba Aparajith who made 45 in 32 balls with 7 fours. Bharat Shankar made 24 at the top with 5 fours. But Kulwant Khejorliya (4/26) hit them at regular intervals and along with Pradeep Sangwan, kept TN batsmen from teeing off in the death overs.

Gambhir hit a run a ball 21 and Rishabh Pant scored 58 off 33 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes, as TN bowlers found it hard to contain the Delhi batsmen. Dhruv Shorey (28* in 24 balls) and Nitish Rana (34* in 14 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes) gave the finishing touches to an emphatic Delhi victory in the 16th over with 8 wickets in hand. Washington Sundar picked the two wickets to fall for 32 runs in his four overs.

JHARKHAND 157/7 lost to MUMBAI 170/5 by 13 runs

Virat Singh topscored for Jharkhand

Mumbai batted first and lost their top 3 for single figure scores. But experienced Aditya Tare (45 in 30 balls) and Siddhesh Lad (46 off 33 balls) stop the fall of Mumbai wickets. Shivam Dube hit 20 and Surya Kumar Yadav hit 33 off 15 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes to take Mumbai to 170/5. Atul Surwar took 2/35.

Virat Singh (81 off 49 balls with 6 fours and 3 sixes) kept Jharkhand in the chase and Saurabh Tiwary kept him company with 32 off 22 balls. But Mumbai bowlers kept taking wickets regularly to push Jharkhand back. Ultimately, Jharkhand fell short by 13 runs.

PUNJAB 158/9 & 15/0 (super over) beat KARNATAKA 158/7 & 11/1 in the super over eliminator

Siddharth Kaul won the super over for Punjab

Karnataka batted first against Punjab and scored 158/7 in 20 overs. Aniruddha hit 40* in 19 balls with 6 fours and 1 six and CM Gautam hit 36 in 31 balls, after the top order failed to make runs. Baltej Singh took 3/21 and Manpreet Grewal took 2/8 for Punjab.

Punjab started brilliantly with Mandeep Singh (45 in 29 balls with 7 fours and 1 six) and Harbhajan Singh making 33 off 19 balls with 5 fours and 1 six, after promoting himself to no.3. Yuvraj Singh hit 29 off 25 balls with 5 fours. However, Karnataka hit back at Punjab via Sreenath Arvind who took 4/32 and Pravin Dubey who took 2/12.

Punjab lost wickets in heap at the end and ended up tying the match with Sandeep Singh hitting a four in his score of 6.

Mandeep Singh hit 10 runs off 4 balls and Yuvraj hit a four in the two balls he faced in the super over. Siddharth Kaul starred for Punjab with the ball, as he dismissed Karun Nair for 8 and gave just 11 runs in the super over to win the match for Punjab.

BENGAL 132 lost to BARODA 149/9 by 17 runs

Shreevats Goswami hit 58, but rest of the Bengal batting collapsed

Baroda batted first and scored 149/9 thanks to some good bowling by Sayan Ghosh (3/37) and Manoj Tiwary (2/25). Vishnu Solanki (26), Deepak Hooda (22) and Kedar Devdhar (21) were the main scorers for Baroda.

Bengal had the easy task of chasing 149, but they found it hard to bat on a slowing wicket. Shreevats Goswami scored 58 in 43 balls with 6 fours to give Bengal a good start. But L Meriwala (3/26), Krunal Pandya (3/14) and Soaeb Tai (2/27) did the maximum damage for Baroda. Bengal kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Vishal Singh scored 14 and only Manoj Tiwary (12) and Anustup Majumdar reached double figures.

Bengal was bowled out for 132 runs on the penultimate ball of their innings and Baroda won the match by 17 runs.


By Jatin Sharma - 21 Jan, 2018

    Share Via