Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 2018: 11th January - Results summary

Results summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2018.

Karun Nair

Indian domestic cricket’s premier T20 tournament Syed Mushtaq Ali is underway, with the top T20 stars of Indian cricket participating in the event. The tournament dates were brought forward in order to showcase the domestic talent for the upcoming IPL 2018 auctions.

Here is the summary of January 11 matches results:

KARNATAKA 205/5 defeated HYDERABAD 203/9 by 2 runs

Karnataka defeated Hyderabad by 2 runs amidst high drama and fights at Vizag. Karnataka batted first and scored 205/5 with Karun Nair making 77 off 42 balls with 10 fours and K Gowtham making 57 off 31 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes.

During the mid-innings break, two runs were added to Karnataka total, as a fielding faux pas went unnoticed. This caused a delay as Hyderabad and Karnataka captains argued about the validity of the change.

Akshath Reddy of Hyderabad

Akshath Reddy anchored the Hyderabad innings with 70 off 29 balls with 7 sixes. Tanmay Agarwal hit 38 and B Sandeep hit 34 in 19 balls. In the end, they fell two runs short and it led to a big fight. Rayudu, Hyderabad captain waited with the whole team on the ground to play a super over, arguing that adding two runs in mid innings should not be valid. Even Karnataka skipper R Vinay Kumar got into a heated argument with Rayudu.

MAHARASHTRA 89 lost to MUMBAI 92/3 by 7 wickets

Maharashtra could only manage a score of 89 runs with Rahul Tripathi and Vijay Zol both making 21 each. Akash Parkar took 3/22 and Shivam Dube took 2/7 to stop Maharashtra to a low total.

Aditya Tare

Though Mumbai lost two early wickets, Aditya Tare (42* off 26 balls) and Siddhesh Lad (25 off 15 balls) managed to take Mumbai to the win by 7 wickets.

TAMIL NADU 155/5 defeated GOA 130/7 by 25 runs

Dinesh Karthik hit 56 off 43 balls, Sanjay Yadav (28) and Baba Aparajith (26) took Tamil Nadu to 155/5 against Goa. Amogh Desai took 3/22 for Goa. Sagun Kamat top scored with 41 and Desai hit 25 while opening the innings, but consistent loss of wickets kept Goa behind the required run rate. They finished with 130/7 and lost the match by 25 runs. Washington Sundar took 2/20 for TN.

KERALA 120 lost to ANDHRA 126/4 by 6 wickets

Vishnu Vinod’s 45 off 20 balls with 4 sixes and 3 fours and Sanju Samson’s 32 off 19 balls were the highlights of a dismal Kerala batting as it scored 120 in 20 overs. M Harishankar Reddy took 4/12 and A Bandaru took 3/32 to do the most damage.

Ashwin Hebbar scored 64 in 34 balls with 4 sixes and 6 fours and with contributions from Hanuma Vihari (25) and Ricky Bhui (17) took Andhra to an easy 6 wicket win.

SAURASHTRA 131 lost to BARODA 132/2 by 8 wickets

Jaydev Unadkat’s 26 ball 33 and Robin Uthappa’s 29 were the highlights of Saurashtra’s innings of 131. A Sheth took 2/18 for Baroda. Baroda’s reply was anchored by Kedar Devdhar’s 62* off 48 balls with 7 fours and Deepak Hooda’s 32* off 20 balls. Baroda won the match easily by 8 wickets.


By Jatin Sharma - 11 Jan, 2018

    Share Via