Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 2018: 8th January - Results summary

Results summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2018

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2016 winners UP | File Photo

 Indian domestic cricket’s premier T20 tournament Syed Mushtaq Ali is underway, with the top T20 stars of Indian cricket participating in the event. The tournament was brought forward in order to showcase the domestic talent for the upcoming IPL 2018 auctions.

Here is the summary of January 8 matches results:

SAURASHTRA 142/9 defeated MAHARASHTRA 138/7 by 4 runs

Saurashtra batted first to score 142/9 in their 20 overs. The highest scorer for them was Prerak Mankad with 34 runs with three of the Maharashtra bowlers in DJ Muthuswamy, Shrikant Mundhe and JP Zope taking 2/27. Despite Ruturaj Gaikwad’s 41 and NS Shaikh’s 24, Maharashtra well short by 4 runs in their chase; with Yuvraj Chudasama picking 2/26.

HIMACHAL 194/2 & 6/0 defeated HARYANA 194/8 & 2/2 in Super over Eliminator

Himachal Pradesh and Haryana played out a tie at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. Himachal batted first and scored 194/2 with Prashant Chopra making an unbeaten 99 in 64 balls and Paras Dogra making 47* in 32 balls. They had an excellent opening partnership of 50 runs in 5 overs with AK Bhains making 31 in 15 balls.

Haryana replied in kind with HV Patel making 73 in 32 balls with 5 sixes and 7 fours and RK Tewatia making 42 in 26 balls. RP Sharma made a brisk 22 to take Haryana close, but in the end, the match ended in a tie.

In the super over, Himachal’s PP Jaiswal took 2 wickets, giving away 2 runs. Himachal won the match with Prashant Chopra hitting a four for the win.

RAJASTHAN 156/5 defeated MADHYA PRADESH 120 by 36 runs

Rajasthan scored 156/5 with Ankit Lamba making 62 in 53 balls and TN Dhillon smashing 51 in 22 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes. CP Singh’s 3/22 kept Madhya Pradesh from achieving the target as they were bowled out for 120. Rajat Patidar hit 38 in MP innings; AV Chaudhary took 2/16 to remove the dangerous hitters to ensure a win for Rajasthan. 

ASSAM 154/8 lost to TRIPURA 162/5 by 8 runs

Tripura batted first and scored 162/5 with Yashpal Singh making 56 and SK Patel making 42 in 30 balls. Abu Nechim Ahmed picked 3/20 for Assam. AS Sarkar picked 3 wickets for Tripura; removing the top three batsmen of Assam for just 32 runs. Though Sibshankar Roy (46 in 34 balls) and Amit Sinha (64 in 53 balls) tried their best to take Assam to the win, they well short by 8 runs in the end.

GOA 123/8 lost to KARNATAKA 172/4 by 49 runs

Mayank Agarwal

Karnataka batted first and scored 172/4 against Goa. Mayank Agarwal continued his good form from Ranji Trophy, hitting 55 from 35 balls with 8 fours and 2 sixes. Manish Pandey (24 off 17) and Stuart Binny (28 off 16) played good cameos for Karnataka. Darshan Misal was the pick of bowlers for Goa, picking 3/27 in his 4 overs.

A Mithun (2/13) and Sreenath Arvind (2/22) never let Goa batsmen settle and despite Sagun Kamat (28), Darshan Misal (24) and Achit Shigwan (20) tried their best, no one batsman stayed at the crease long enough to make an impact.

MUMBAI 168/5 beat GUJARAT 167/7 by 5 wickets

Dhawal Kulkarni picked three wickets

Dhruv Raval’s 73 off 34 balls with 9 fours and 4 sixes and captain Akshar Patel’s 35 took Gujarat to 167/5 in 20 overs. Dhawal Kulkarni took 3/32. Jay Bista hit a 35 ball 50, while Lad made 30. Suryakumar Yadav hit 30 and it came down to Shashank Singh (22*) and Shivam Dube (23*) to take Mumbai to a 5 wicket victory. Piyush Chawla took 2/29 in his 4 overs.

J&K 128 lost to SERVICES 130/1 by 9 wickets

Ian Chauhan’s 47 was the highest score in J&K’s 128. Diwesh Pathania took 3/28 to do the most damage. Ravi Chauhan then smashed 86* in 56 balls with 16 fours and Nakul Verma hit 36 as Services reached the total with 9 wickets in hand in 17th over.

VIDARBHA 195/7 beat CHHATTISGARH 147/8 by 48 runs

JM Sharma’s 91 in 53 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes was the highlight of Vidarbha’s batting, as the next highest score was Karn Sharma’s 25 in 13 balls. Vidarbha hit 195/7 in 20 overs with Vishal Singh taking 2/31.

CG lost 3 wickets for 19 runs and were never in the game. Though Ashutosh Singh made 25 and Manoj Singh hit 35, they were restricted to 147/8 by Vidarbha bowling. AA Wakhare was the pick of the bowlers taking 2/22 and SB Wagh took 2/24.

ODISHA 157/5 lost to BENGAL 158/3 by 7 wickets

Manoj Tiwary was amongst wickets for Bengal

Odisha batted first and scored 157/5 with Rajesh Dhuper hitting 90 in 64 balls with 8 fours and 2 sixes. Manoj Tiwary took 2/23 in 3 overs. Sreevats Goswami hit 79 in 52 balls including 9 fours and 2 sixes and V Singh hit 64 in 43 to take Bengal to a comfortable 7 wicket win in the 19th over.

TAMIL NADU 122/3 beat ANDHRA 119/7 by 7 wickets

Andhra batted first and TN took wickets at regular intervals to keep them 119/7. Ricky Bhui topscored with 25 runs for Andhra and K Vignesh took 2/17 in four overs for Tamil Nadu. Dinesh Karthik hit 57 and Baba Aparajith hit 28* to take TN to the victory with 7 wickets in hand in the 15th over.

HYDERABAD 168/5 beat KERALA 158/7 by 10 runs

Ambati Rayudu’s 51 and Akshath Reddy’s 34 took Hyderabad to 168/5 in their 20 overs. Jalaj Saxena took 2/28 in his 4 overs. Vishnu Vinod and Rohan Prem both hit 22 each and captain Sachin Baby hit 79 in 50 balls to keep Kerala in hunt of the target. Ravi Kiran took 3/28and Mohd Siraj took 2/28 to get a narrow win of 10 runs for Hyderabad.


By Jatin Sharma - 08 Jan, 2018

    Share Via