RANJI TROPHY FINAL 2017-18: Day 1- Dhruv Shorey’s unbeaten century pulls Delhi out of mess

Vidarbha had a good start to their first Ranji finals, as they reduced Delhi to 99/4.

Delhi captain Rishabh Pant and Vidarbha captain Faiz Fazal during the toss of the Ranji Trophy 2017/18 finals

The final of the 84th season of Ranji Trophy between Delhi and Vidarbha got underway at the Holkar Stadium in Nagpur today.

Vidarbha captain Faiz Fazal won the toss and put Delhi into bat on a seaming wicket with conditions providing some swing. His decision was proved correct, when Aditya Thakare removed Kunal Chandela for a duck in the first over. Gautam Gambhir scored 15 before Akshay Wakhare rattled his stumps.

Dhruv Shorey kept scoring runs at the other end and was looking like that he was batting on a totally different wicket. Nitish Rana scored 21 runs before getting out to Thakare. Gurbani dismissed Delhi Captain Rishab Pant for 21 on the stroke of a drinks break. This left Delhi on 99/4.

Vidarbha bowlers had a good day in finals

Himmat Singh then joined Shorey and stitched a brilliant partnership of 105 runs for the 5th wicket. Himmat scored a brilliant 66 off just 72 balls with 8 fours and 2 sixes. He was dismissed by RN Gurbani, who had him caught by keeper AV Wadkar.

Delhi also lost Manan Sharma for 13 runs before Dhruv Shorey brought up his much deserved century off 223 balls.

Delhi ended the day on 271/6 with Shorey unbeaten on 123 and Vikas Mishra not out on 5 runs.

RN Gurbani (2/44) and Aditya Thakare (2/65) ensured that Vidarbha gave a tough fight to the 7 time Ranji Champions Delhi.

DELHI 271/6 (D SHOREY 123*, H Singh 66; A THAKARE 2/65, RN GURBANI 2/44)


By Jatin Sharma - 29 Dec, 2017

    Share Via