IND v SL 2017: Rohit’s record century helps India defeats SL amidst a run feast at Indore; go 2-0 up

Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav did the most damage with the ball.

Rohit Sharma (118) and KL Rahul (89) added 165 runs for the first wicket

Indian captain Rohit Sharma’s 35 ball century (118 in 43 balls) which included 12 fours and 10 sixes helped India score a mountain of runs on a flat Indore pitch and defeat Sri Lanka in the second T20I and win the series by going 2-0 up.

Sri Lanka won the toss and out India into bat. Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul started to tee off from the first over as the pitch provided nothing to the bowlers, both spin and pace. Rohit Sharma ended up scoring his second T20I century off just 35 balls, equaling David Miller’s record of the fastest T20I century ever.

KL Rahul also scored 89 runs in 49 balls and duo added a record opening stand of 165 runs. MS Dhoni (28 off 21) also contributed as India slammed its highest T20I score of 260/5 in 20 overs.

Sri Lanka needed to hit out or get out. Dickwella (25 off 19) and Tharanga (47 off 29) gave a quick start to the team and then Kusal Perera tried his best to take the game away from Indian bowlers. Perera scored 77 off 37 balls with 7 sixes and 4 fours.

Yuzvendra Chahal picked 4 wickets in this match and with Kuldeep's 3 wickets, Indian spinners took 7 wickets in the match

However, Kuldeep Yadav came back in style removing Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera and Asela Gunaratne in quick succession in one over, after Chahal had got rid of Tharanga. This ended Sri Lanka’s spirits of chase.

Angelo Mathews didn't come out to bat after injuring his right hamstring.

The Indian total of 260 proved too much for the Sri Lankan batsmen to scale, even though they give a good tonking to the Indian bowlers. With this win, India captured the T20I series with an unassailable lead of 2-0 in the 3 match series.


IND 260/5 (R Sharma 118; KL RAHUL 89) defeated SL 172/9 (K PERERA 77; Y CHAHAL 4/54) by 88 runs.




By Jatin Sharma - 22 Dec, 2017

    Share Via