IND v SL 2017: 3rd ODI – India looking good to wrap up another series, as SL looking for upset win

Sri Lanka have lost all their ODI series this year; while India are looking to yet another trophy.

Rohit Sharma will aim for first ODI series win as captain | IANS

India and Sri Lanka will enter the Vishakhapatnam Stadium on Sunday to play the final ODI of the 3 match series. With series 1-1 and both teams notching up impressive wins in the series; the contest seems to be a close one.

Sri Lanka took advantage of the seam and swing on offer in Dharamsala to rout the Indian batting and register a good win. They tried to the same at Mohali, but the pitch didn’t came to their help and Rohit Sharma’s 208* blew them out of the contest. Now they will be looking to win the series in Vizag, with the pitch conducive to slow bowling.

Thisara Perera and his bowlers have lots to think about before the final ODI

India on the other hands will be looking to end their 2017 ODI year on a high with another series win over Lankans. After a humiliating loss in Dharamsala, Team India got their mojo back and destroyed Sri Lankan bowlers in Mohali and now has their morale on the high for the final ODI of the year.

Sri Lanka will hope that their batsmen do well on a batting friendly pitch at Vizag, which suits their stroke play. They need to put runs on the board to put the Indian batting lineup under pressure, which even without Virat Kohli, are looking dangerous as ever.

The final ODI at Vizag will prove to be a morale booster for Sri Lanka, if they win it; or it will just solidify India’s status as a top ODI team in the world.


India have won the toss and have opted to field

Playing XIs:

Sri Lanka : Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera(c), Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep

India : Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, MS Dhoni(w), Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal



By Jatin Sharma - 16 Dec, 2017

    Share Via