CA chief reveals 4 venues for India-Australia Tests, schedule likely to be out in 24 hours: report

The board's chief Earl Eddings ended speculations on the matter via a report, informing of communications with BCCI.

The Test series could start at the Adelaide Oval | GettyAmidst speculations of one or two venues hosting multiple Tests, it was confirmed by Cricket Australia (CA) chief Earl Eddings on Thursday (October 15) that India's four-Test series will be played at four different marquee stadiums in the summer. 

It was also informed by the board chairman that three ODIs and three T20Is will precede the much-anticipated Border-Gavaskar Trophy and that a detailed itinerary for the entire trip will be announced in the coming 24 hours. 

Read Also: Allan Border critical of CA, BCCI over proposed extended gap before the New Year's Test 

In a report by The Australian, Eddings ended fears over delay in the announcement, saying he has been in regular contact with CA's Indian counterpart, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), and its president Sourav Ganguly. 

“I’m 100 per cent confident they are coming. Sourav Ganguly and I talk about it most days and we are already planning when we can catch up once he and the team get over here," Eddings was quoted as saying in the paper. 

The report further states that the Virat Kohli-led Indian team will land in Brisbane, instead of Perth or Adelaide as was initially thought, and the touring party is unlikely to face too many quarantine restrictions even as recent reports emerged that there won't be any leniency over COVID-19 protocols in Brisbane, part of the state of Queensland. 

"The tour will commence with a white-ball component before the four-Test series, at this stage, begins in Adelaide on December 17-21. Other venues include Melbourne (December 26-30), Sydney (January 7-11) and Brisbane (January 15-19)," the paper reads. 

(Inputs from Mumbai Mirror)


By Kashish Chadha - 15 Oct, 2020

    Share Via