Women’s World T20: Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav make it to ICC team of the tournament

India reached the semifinals of the tournament unbeaten.

Poonam picked eight wickets in five matches, at an economy of 6.30 | GettyIndia T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur and leg-spinner Poonam Yadav were included in the just-released ICC team of the Women’s World T20 2018 tournament announced on Sunday (November 25). Harmanpreet Kaur was also named the captain of the tournament.

India went into the semifinals undefeated in the group stage, beating sides like New Zealand and Australia, however, England proved to be their nemesis once again, as they were beaten in a one-sided match and crashed out of the tournament.

Good thing for the Indian team was Harmanpreet (183) & Mandhana (178) finished as second and third highest run-scorers in the tournament respectively, behind Australia's Alyssa Healy (225). Harmanpreet registered a strike rate of 160.52.

Meanwhile, leg-spinner Poonam picked eight wickets in five matches, at an economy of 6.30.

ICC Women's World Cup Team of the Tournament:
Alyssa Healy (AUS), Smriti Mandhana (IND), Amy Jones (ENG), Harmanpreet Kaur (IND), Deandra Dottin (WI), Javeria Khan (PAK), Ellyse Perry (AUS), Leigh Kasperek (NZ), Anya Shrubsole (ENG), Kirstie Gordon (ENG), Poonam Yadav (IND). 12th Player Jahanara Alam (BAN)


By Jatin Sharma - 25 Nov, 2018

    Share Via