Women’s World T20: Three-time champions Australia take on a dominant India in a big-ticket clash

Both India and Australia women's teams have qualified for the semi-finals of the tournament.

Mithali Raj and Alyssa Healy have been the consistent scorers for their respective sides | Getty

Three-time Women’s World T20 champions Australia will take on three-time semi-finalists India in a blockbuster Group B clash in Providence Stadium in Guyana.

The Australian team has been crushing the opposition with wicketkeeper-batswoman Alyssa Healy topping the run charts with 157 runs including two fifties. She has been well supported by Beth Mooney and Megan Schutt with the ball, who has 6 wickets to her name. Australia has been undefeated in the tournament so far and was the first to qualify for the semifinals of the 2018 edition.

On the other hand, their opponents India has two batswomen going for them in skipper Harmanpreet Kaur and the veteran Mithali Raj. Harmanpreet Kaur cracked the first ever T20I century by an Indian batswoman with her 103 coming against New Zealand. They then defeated arch-rivals Pakistan easily and Ireland was choked to defeat by Indian spinners.

In both these matches, Mithali Raj scored a match-winning half-century each and has become the highest run-getter in T20I cricket for India leaving behind the likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma.

However, the differentiating factor in this match will be the bowling of both teams, as India has a very effective spin attack, while Australia prides on their pace attack.

The clash of these two dominating teams in such an environment of World T20 is a mouthwatering prospect and the team which plays the best on the day will emerge victoriously.


India Women have won the toss and have opted to bat

Playing XIs:


India Women : Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Veda Krishnamurthy, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia(w), Anuja Patil, Poonam Yadav, Arundhati Reddy

Australia Women : Beth Mooney, Alyssa Healy(w), Meg Lanning(c), Ashleigh Gardner, Elyse Villani, Rachael Haynes, Ellyse Perry, Sophie Molineux, Delissa Kimmince, Tayla Vlaeminck, Megan Schutt


By Jatin Sharma - 17 Nov, 2018

    Share Via