WBBL 2019: Brisbane Heat dominate Adelaide Strikers in final to claim back to back titles

Brisbane Heat defeated Adelaide Strikers by six wickets to lift the WBBL trophy.

Brisbane Heat won the final by six wickets | GettyBrisbane Heat clinched their second consecutive Women's Big Bash League title defeating Adelaide Strikers convincingly in the final on Sunday (December 8). 

Batting first, the Strikers posted a fighting total of 161/7 in 20 overs, with Amanda Wellington (55) scoring a valiant half-century and finding decent support at the task from skipper Suzie Bates (27) and Tahlia McGrath (33). Georgia Prestwidge (2/24) and Jess Jonassen (2/30) picked up a couple of breakthroughs each in their spells for the Heat. 

Then in the run-chase, opener Beth Mooney (56*) played a wonderful unbeaten knock that set-up things well for her team. Sammy-Jo Johnson (27) and Jess Jonassen (33) also contributed nicely as the Heat ramped home towards victory in less than 19 overs with still six wickets left in the bank. 

Tahlia McGrath (2/34) had a couple of scalps while Sarah Coyte (1/27) bowled a miserly spell but that wasn't enough for the Strikers to defend their total. 

The result capped off another brilliant season of the WBBL with the Heat lifting the trophy. 

Brief scores: 

Adelaide Strikers Women 161/7 in 20 overs (Amanda Wellington 55; Georgia Prestwidge 2/24) lost to Brisbane Heat 162/4 in 18.1 overs (Beth Mooney 56*; Tahlia McGrath 2/34) by six wickets 


By Kashish Chadha - 08 Dec, 2019

    Share Via