SA v IND 2018: 3rd ODI – Injury hurt South Africa looks to stop India from going 3-0 up in the series

India has won the first two ODIs in the six match series against South Africa.

Virat Kohli will want to continue the domination in the ODI series | Getty

India and South Africa will battle it out in the third ODI at Cape Town today. A win here for India will mean that they will not lose the series, but be sure that the Indian team will be looking forward to wanting much more than that.

South Africa is coming into the match ravaged by both wrist spin and injuries to three of their best players. AB de Villiers will be available from 4th match onwards, while Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock are ruled out of the ODI and T20I series. As for their struggles with the spin, South Africa has approached the issue with either playing it tentatively or going on an all-out assault.

India, on the other hand, will want to continue doing what is getting them victories over the South African team. "When you're winning, you don't ask yourself too many questions," Rabada quoted. The Indian batting has not been tested really by the South African bowling lineup and they will be looking to continue the domination in the third ODI as well.

South Africa, who was on a high after winning the Test series, now needs to win all the four remaining ODIs in the series. However, with the current situation with their team and the form they are in, the tasks looks highly difficult, if not impossible.

For India, it will be a chance to create an opportunity for them to get themselves in a position to win their first ODI series in the rainbow nation.  

Toss: South Africa have won the toss and have opted to field

Playing XIs:

South Africa : Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen(w), Jean-Paul Duminy, David Miller, Khaya Zondo, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Lungisani Ngidi, Imran Tahir

India : Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni(w), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah


By Jatin Sharma - 07 Feb, 2018

    Share Via