SA vs AUS 2018: Josh Hazlewood seeks new ball consistency in Cape Town Test

The third Test starts 22nd March in Cape Town.

Hazlewood has picked up 7 wickets in the series so far. (Getty)

The Cape Town Test between South Africa and Australia starts from 22nd March. With the series poised at 1-1 both teams will go all out for a win in the all-important Test match to take the lead in the series. 

Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood is working hard on his new ball consistency ahead of the Test match. Hazlewood has been far from disappointing in the opening two Tests of the four-match Qantas Tour of South Africa series, snaring seven scalps at 30.85.

However, the right-armer has failed to capture a wicket in his opening spell during all four of South Africa's innings. "With the new ball, a little bit patchy," Hazlewood said of his form this series.

"Durban probably wasn't a great new-ball wicket. Obviously, a lot of wickets were taken once it started reversing and the ball was a bit older ... (Port Elizabeth) as well to a degree.

"It's definitely something we can work on, we haven't seen a heap of conventional swing. Might have been different if we'd bowled first in the Test just gone."

"But there might be a little bit more in Cape Town or Jo'burg, so we're working on that." Hazlewood who is on similar lines as a bowler to Vernon Philander feels that if their is grass on the wicket it will be a great help for the bowlers. "They might leave some grass on it for Vernon, who is pretty good down there most of the time," Hazlewood said. 

"I'd be pretty happy. Anything with a bit of grass is always good. You don't come across it very often in Test cricket."

Hazlewood backed the tourists to trump South Africa on any surface, even if there is little assistance on offer for the bowlers. 

Amidst the build-up to the third Test,  threat of water scarcity is looming large over the Test match.

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Dean Elgar, Heinrich Klaasen, Quinton de Kock, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Duanne Olivier, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, AB de Villiers

Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc 


By Anshuman Roy - 19 Mar, 2018

    Share Via