SA v AUS 2018: South Africa adds two new bowlers to the arsenal for remainder of the series

The four Test series is tied 1-1.

Chris Morris | GETTY

South Africa has added all-rounder Chris Morris and fast bowler Duanne Olivier to their squad for the last two Tests against Australia.

The addition of two new players has stretched the squad size to 17. Cricket South Africa will soon release players who won't be part of the series so they can join the domestic Sunfoil Series.

"Circumstances have forced us to name a large squad at this stage so that we can cover all possible options," commented CSA National Selection Panel Convener Linda Zondi.

"Once we have finalized our playing XI we will release players to their franchises for the final round of the Sunfoil Series. We have retained the 15 players who produced an excellent performance to level the Test Series in Port Elizabeth. Olivier was the pick of our bowlers for South Africa A in their tour match against Australia while Morris has been in excellent form in domestic cricket, taking four wickets in an innings and making more than 150 runs, including a century, for the Titans in the Sunfoil Series against the league-leading Warriors," concluded Zondi.

The series between Australia and South Africa stands at 1-1. Hosts have lost their key bowler Kagiso Rabada for rest of the series after he received demerit points for his send-off to Aussie skipper Steve Smith in the 2nd Test.

Veteran pacer Dale Steyn, who is recovering from a heel injury, also confirmed that he won't be part of the series as he would not be fit to face the tourists in Cape Town.

South Africa squad for the last two Tests:
Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Willem Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Duanne Olivier, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada


By Sihyeu Singh - 18 Mar, 2018

    Share Via