Quadrangular Series 2018: India B loses to Australia A by 5 wickets

Manish Pandey scored 117* in 109 balls.

Manish Pandey scored 117* | Getty India B and Australia A played in the 10th match of the Quadrangular Series in KSCA Cricket Ground, Alur.

Australia A captain Travis Head won the toss and chose to field first. Indian openers started off well scoring 58 off 13 overs with Mayank Agarwal making 36 and Ishan Kishan making 31. Michael Neser then removed Shubman Gill for 4 to give India B a big jolt.

India B captain Manish Pandey took over from there and scored 117* in 109 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes. He was aided by Deepak Hooda’s 30 and cameos from Jalaj Saxena and Shreyas Gopal. India B ended up with 276/6 in 50 overs.

Michael Neser took 3/47, while Jhye Richardson, Jack Wildermuth, and Mitchell Swepson took a wicket each.

Australia A’s innings was curtailed to 40 overs due to rain and the target was reduced to 247 runs.

Alex Carey (23) and Usman Khwaja added 77 runs for the first wicket. Jalaj Saxena removed Carey and Head to bring India B back into the game. Australia A kept losing wickets at regular intervals and required 86 runs in the last 60 balls with 5 wickets in hand.

Usman Khawaja scored an exemplary century (101* in 93 balls with 10 fours and 1 six) and Wildermuth aided him with a brilliant fifty (62*; 5x4s and 3x6s) with a six to finish off the match with 5 runs needed off the last ball.

Australia A won the match by 5 wickets.

The final of the series will see these two teams, India B and Australia A, battle it out on Wednesday (Aug 29).

IND-B 276/6 in 50 overs (M PANDEY 117*; M NESER 3/47) lost to AUS-A 248/5 in 40 overs (U KHAWAJA 101*, J WILDERMUTH 62*) by 5 wickets via D/L method.



By Jatin Sharma - 27 Aug, 2018

    Share Via