PAK v NZ 2018: Sarfraz Ahmed urges his batsmen to step up and play good cricket in Dubai

We have the belief heading into the second Test, says New Zealand batsman Henry Nicholls.

Sarfraz Ahmed urges Pakistan to play good cricket in Dubai | Getty Images

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed has urged his batsmen to step up and play good cricket at Dubai International Stadium, as they are looking for a win over New Zealand in the second Test of the three-match series to be played from Saturday (November 24).

On Friday, Sarfraz stressed on the need that his batsmen need to play longer innings to build up their chances in the crucial second Test against the Black Caps. He also said Pakistan has moved on from their embarrassing defeat of 4-runs in the series opener at Abu Dhabi.

Sarfraz told reporters at the pre-match press conference in Dubai, “What mistakes we committed we have left them in Abu Dhabi. If you analyze our last eight Tests or so, our batsmen get out without playing long innings so we have spoken to them about that.”

The skipper further noted, “This is an important Test for us so we should play good cricket and we realize how important it is to bounce back and then go on to win the series.”

Meanwhile, New Zealand batsman Henry Nicholls has claimed that the touring side is more confident after their memorable Abu Dhabi victory and they are heading with the confidence into the Dubai Test.

Nicholls signed off by saying, “Obviously, it was an ideal start for us to win the first Test and we have the belief heading into the second Test. We bounced back after not an ideal start and found ways in conditions that are foreign to us, so it was nice and has given us confidence heading into the second Test. Pakistan will definitely look to bounce back so it's for us to improve and to assess quickly and adjust at a different ground and different wicket.”

Squads for Dubai Test:


Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Imam-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Saad Ali, Yasir Shah, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Faheem Ashraf, Mir Hamza

New Zealand:

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Jeet Raval, Ish Sodhi, Will Somerville, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner

(With AFP Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 24 Nov, 2018

    Share Via