Nidahas Tri-series 2018: Final - India and Bangladesh clash in an explosive encounter

Bangladesh have never won a T20I tournament.

Mushfiqur Rahim will be the key for Bangladesh to win the series | AFP

India and Bangladesh will clash in the finals of the Nidahas Tri-series 2018, after hosts Sri Lanka crashed out of the tournament, losing to Bangladesh on March 16.

Bangladesh has been brilliant while facing Sri Lanka, defeating them in both encounters, while chasing and even creating a record of highest chase in T20Is in Sri Lanka. Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal and Shakib- Al-Hasan will be the Bangladesh’s best hopes against India on the finals.

The team winning the toss will definitely choose to chase, as teams chasing in this tournament have been successful. Bangladesh have showed that their bowling attack lacks the teeth needed to contain the opposition batting and batsmen have compensated in turn.

Washington Sundar has been amazingly brilliant in the powerplays for India

Indian team on the other hand have most of their batsmen in top form, but their lone spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has been a bit off, thanks to bowling with a wet ball. However, the young spinning all-rounder Washington Sundar has made heads turn with his ability to bowl wonderfully well in the power play, picking up 7 wickets at economy of 5.87.

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina and Manish Pandey will be the key to a big score, if India bats first or even if they chase, batting wise.

Whatever happens, the fans of both teams and even the neutral fans are in for a cracking encounter, where Bangladesh will be looking for a win, to not only win their first T20I tournament, defeating India; whereas India will want to cap off a good tournament in which fringe players flourished.

Toss: India have won the toss and have opted to field

Playing XIs:

India: Dinesh Karthik (wk), Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Yuzvendra Chahal, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Lokesh Rahul, Jaydev Unadkat, Washington Sundar

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan (c), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Nazmul Islam, Liton Das, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan



By Jatin Sharma - 18 Mar, 2018

    Share Via