Nidahas Tri-series 2018: IND v SL – Teams begin from the scratch as race to finals start

Each team has one loss and one win to their names after the first round of the tri-series.

India will be banking on Dhawan to give them majority of runs | AP

The Nidahas Trophy 2018 has come at an interesting point. All the three teams are on equal page with one win and one loss each. Now second round of matches begin with India taking on Sri Lanka once again at the R Premadasa Stadium.

Sri Lanka must definitely be smarting from the loss against Bangladesh. Bangladesh chased down a record total in Sri Lanka and now as Sri Lanka takes on India, things will get more interesting as to which teams makes it into the finals.

The Premadasa pitch has caused all the bowlers from all the three sides some hurt egos in terms of economy rates. However, as the second round of matches begin, the pitch will become slower and batsmen will find it difficult to score and big totals will become seldom.

India lost to Sri Lanka in the opener of the tournament and will be looking for redemption this time around. Both have the same problem of not having an experienced bowling attack and hence both lost a match each. Indian bowlers however bounced back to defeat Bangladesh, while Sri Lankan bowlers will be looking to do the same,

Indian batting will be looking to take the advantage of a bruised and battered Sri Lanka and put one foot in the doors to the finals.

Toss: India won the toss and elected to bowl first

Playing XIs:

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Thisara Perera (c), Suranga Lakmal, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, Akila Dananjaya, Kusal Mendis

India: Dinesh Karthik (wk), Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul, Washington Sundar


By Jatin Sharma - 12 Mar, 2018

    Share Via