NZ v SL 2018-19: Tim Southee to lead New Zealand in one-off T20I against Sri Lanka

New Zealand announced squad for the lone T20I against Lanka.

New Zealand will play one-off T20I against Sri Lanka | Getty Images

Tim Southee has been named the captain of the Kiwi side for the one-off T20 International against Sri Lanka to be played on January 11 in Auckland, announced by the New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Friday (January 3).

The NZC also announced that Craig McMillan will be the coach for the lone T20I against Lanka as regular skipper Kane Williamson, Trent Boult and Colin de Grandhomme along with Head coach Gary Stead have been given the break after the three-match One Day International series at home.

James Neesham and Martin Guptill –both have shined in the opening ODI against Sri Lanka have been recalled along with Mitchell Santner, who hasn't played since March 2018 having undergone knee surgery for the lone T20I against the Islanders.

New Zealand also included the paceman Scott Kuggeleijn alongside Glenn Phillips in the 13-man squad for the lone T20I against Sri Lanka, announced buy NZC on Friday.

The NZC selector Gavin Larsen said, “Tim did a really good job leading the side against Pakistan and the West Indies last season and he’s got a nice mix of proven performers and some fresh faces to work with. We’re delighted to welcome Mitchell back into the BLACKCAPS environment and he’s shown in his performances for the Knights in the BK Super Smash that he’s ready for international cricket again.”

Meanwhile, Southee, who is all set to lead the Black Caps for the third time in the T20I having captained the national side against Pakistan and West Indies, admitted that leading the side in the shortest form can be a bit of a gamble.

He signed off by saying, “It's about trying to stay a step ahead of the game and a little bit of guessing. The way T20 cricket goes it's (about) trying to take a bit of a punt on what you think is going to happen.”

New Zealand Squad:

Tim Southee (c), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor

(With AFP Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 04 Jan, 2019

    Share Via