NZ v SL 2018-19: Dimuth Karunaratne admits Sri Lanka team management upheaval affected their mindset

Dimuth Karunaratne said team will try to give their best in New Zealand.

Sri Lanka to play two Test in New Zealand | Getty Images

Sri Lankan batsman Dimuth Karunaratne admitted that the recent upheaval in the team management made things difficult for the national team to concentrate on their upcoming tough New Zealand tour.

First of all, Sri Lankan bowling coach Nuwan Zoysa was suspended by the International Cricket Council in October after being accused of match-fixing and "corrupt conduct", later ex-chief selector and former captain Sanath Jayasuriya was charged for failing to collaborate with a match-fixing probe.

Adding to their woes, Lankan off-spinner Akila Dananjaya was suspended this month for illegal bowling action, and later the national team's selection panel was sacked after the England series loss.

Sri Lanka is scheduled to play two Tests, three One Day Internationals and one-off T20I in New Zealand with the crucial tour begin with the first Test on Friday (December 15) at Basin Reserve.

The Islanders, who are currently ranked sixth in the world, have a poor Test record in New Zealand, as they have won only two of 17 matches against them so far, but Dimuth said they will do their best and try to win the matches against the Black Caps.

On Friday, Karunaratne told Wellington's Dominion Post newspaper, “It's not easy, swapping management... but we're going to the same basics and everything. It's not a matter for us. We're trying to regroup as a team, do our best, and trying to win.”

Sri Lanka Test Squad:

Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera

New Zealand Test Squad:

Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, BJ Watling, Will Young, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner

(With Dominion Post Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 14 Dec, 2018

    Share Via