Pakistan was chasing a target of 342 runs in the second ODI, needed 31 runs to win in the last over with two wickets in hand but sadly Fakhar Zaman’s knock of 193 runs ended on the first delivery as he fell short of the crease while going for a run and eventually the Proteas won the game by 17 runs.
A huge debate had started due to this dismissal as wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock appeared to gesture that the throw from Markram might be going to the non-striker's end. But Zaman has taken full responsibility for this runout.
“The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he'd started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don't think it's Quinton's fault,” Fakhar was quoted saying by ESPNcricinfo.
According to MCC’s Law 41.5.1, it is unfair for any fielder to distract the batsman on purpose as it states, “it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”
With this win, the home team South Africa has leveled the series 1-1 with the decider to be played on Wednesday.
(With ESPNcricinfo inputs)