Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer to lead India A against South Africa A in the one-day series

While Pandey will captain the team in the first three matches, Iyer will be leading the side in the last two games.

Rising talent Shubman Gill is part of both Pandey's and Iyer's teams | Getty

Manish Pandey will captain India A in the first three one-dayers against touring South Africa A side while Shreyas Iyer will be leading the team in the final two games, BCCI’s All-India senior selection committee announced it on Monday (August 19).

Punjab’s batting prodigy Shubman Gill has been named in both Pandey's and Iyer's teams. Other players to feature in both squads include Vijay Shankar, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel and Nitish Rana.

The 21-year-old Ishan Kishan was picked as wicketkeeper in the team led by Pandey, while Sanju Samson will don the gloves under Iyer's captaincy.

India wrist-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal is part of the team for the first three matches.

The five-match series will be held at The Sports Hub in Thiruvananthapuram on August 29, 31 and September 2, 4 and 8.

India A Squad for first three one-dayers:

Manish Pandey (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Nitish Rana.

India A Squad for final two one-dayers:

Shreyas Iyer (captain), Shubman Gill, Prashant Chopra, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Nitish Rana, Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Ishan Porel.

(With PTI inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 19 Aug, 2019

    Share Via