IND v SA 2019: CSA announce South Africa's Test and T20I squad for the upcoming India tour

CSA named three newcomers in both squads.

T20I skipper Quinton de Kock and Test skipper Faf du Plessis | Getty

The Proteas who are scheduled to tour India for a three match T20I series and a three match Test series beginning in September have announced their squads. Wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock will lead the Proteas in the T20I series whereas Faf du Plessis will take over the captaincy in the Test series.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) named three newcomers for the Test series in fast bowler Anrich Nortje, spin bowling all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy and wicket-keeper batsman Rudi Second.

When CSA Acting Director, Corrie van Zyl was asked about the newcomers, he said, “All three newcomers to the Test side have more than earned their spurs through impressive performances in last season’s Four-Day Franchise competition.

We feel we have covered all the options for the conditions we are likely to encounter on the sub-continent with Muthusamy and Dane Piedt, who was far and away the leading wicket-taker in our Four-Day competition, providing the back-up to Keshav Maharaj,” he added.

The three newcomers for T20I series were, duo of batsman Temba Bavuma, spin bowling all-rounder Bjorn Fortuin as well as Nortje.

When asked about the squad for T20 series, van Zyl said, “As far as the T20 squad is concerned, Temba Bavuma and Bjorn Fortuin were two of the standout players in the CSA T20 Challenge last season while Nortje was outstanding in the Mzansi Super League until ruled out by injury.

Quinton de Kock will lead the Proteas in the T20 series with Rassie van der Dussen as vice-captain and Faf du Plessis will take over the captaincy in the Test series with Temba Bavuma as his deputy.

T20I Squad: Quinton de Kock (C), Rassie van der Dussen (Vice-Capt), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts

Test Squad: Faf du Plessis (C), Temba Bavuma (Vice-Capt), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second

(With inputs)


By Swapnil Shireesh Javkhedkar - 13 Aug, 2019

    Share Via