ASHES 2019: Australia names a 12-man squad for the Lord's Test

Josh Hazlewood and Mitch Starc missed the first Ashes Test.

Josh Hazlewood and Mitch Starc return to Australia squad | Getty Images

Australia on Tuesday, 13th August, unveiled their 12-man squad for the second Test of the ongoing Ashes 2019 series against England to be played at Lord's from Wednesday, 14th August.

With fast bowler James Pattinson rested for the second Ashes Test, Tim Paine and Justin Langer have decided to go with the option of picking one of their star pace bowlers Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc to make the most of the expected seam-friendly Lord’s turf against England.

However, Pattinson was available for selection, but his long injury history forced the national selectors to rest him for the match at Lord's, as the paceman had already returned to Test cricket after a gap of three-and-a-half years in the first Ashes Test. In his comeback match, Pattinson was impressive with his match figures of 2-111 from 35 overs after suffering a series of devastating back injuries.

While the rest of the line-up is unchanged, Australia will name their final Playing XI at the toss as the tourists would certainly not want unfold their cards in order to give another shock to England at Lord’s.

Captain Tim Paine has insisted that his pace-battery will be managed throughout the Ashes 2019 in a bid to keep them stay fit and healthy.

Paine told media, “We want to make sure the five or six bowlers we've got here have the next three- or four-years bowling as a group together. There will be some management as part of that at some stage.”

Noteworthy, Hazlewood and Starc – who were left out of the Birmingham Test, were impressive in Australia's three-day tour game last week, as the two finished with match figures of 3-34 from 15 overs and 2-56 from 15.5 overs respectively against Worcestershire.

Here’s Australia XII for second Ashes Test:

David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine (c, wk), Pat Cummins, Mitch Starc, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

(With Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 13 Aug, 2019

    Share Via