Rashid Khan named captain of Afghanistan team in all formats

Asghar Afghan to be the vice-captain of the team.

Rashid Khan and Asghar Afghan to be captain and vice-captain respectively of Afghanistan team | Getty The Afghanistan Cricket Board has decided to put an end to their experiment of split captaincy even before it began and have named Rashid Khan as the captain of the Afghanistan team all the three formats. Earlier it was declared that Rahmat Shah was made Test captain, Rashid was made T20 captain and Naib led the team in the World Cup 2019.

This decision comes after the disappointing run of the team in the ICC World Cup 2019 where the team failed to win any match despite coming close to winning atleast two matches. They failed to chase 201 against Sri Lanka, took India to the last over after restricting them to under 250 and then one bad over from captain Gulbadin Naib crushed their hopes of beating Pakistan.

Gulbadin Naib was named captain on April 19, a month before the World Cup began in place of Asghar Afghan in a move that received criticism by a number of well-known players of the team, including Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi.

Now Rashid Khan has been handed over the reins in all formats, as Afghanistan prepares to host the West Indies for a full international series in India. Also, Asghar Afghan has been named as the vice-captain to Rashid.

(Source: Tolo News)


By Jatin Sharma - 12 Jul, 2019

    Share Via