AUS v SL 2019: Sri Lanka announced squad for Australia Tests

Kusal Perera recalled for the Test series.

Angelo Mathews to miss Australia Tests with hamstring injury | Getty Images

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced on Tuesday (January 8) the 16-man squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Australia, starting from January 24 in Brisbane.

While the left-handed batsman Kusal Perera got the node for the Australia Down Under on the back of his show in the just-concluded New Zealand One Dayers, Angelo Mathews set to miss the Test series after picking up another hamstring injury during the Test series against the Black Caps.

Sri Lanka dropped Danushka Gunathilaka for the Australia tour after his poor show in the New Zealand Tests, as he managed only 16 runs in the two Tests and recalled Perera as his replacement in the 16-man squad for Australia Tests on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, Dinesh Chandimal-led Lanka squad has Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera and Kasun Rajitha in their pace attack, while Dilruwan Perera and Lakshan Sandakan will lead the spin attack against Australia.

Noteworthy, the two-match Test series will get underway with the first match being played at The Gabba from January 24, which will be a Day-Night affair followed by the second and final Test to be played from February 1 at the Manuka Oval in Canberra.

Sri Lanka Squad for Australia Tests:

Dinesh Chandimal(C), Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Dimuth Karunaratne

(With AFP Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 09 Jan, 2019

    Share Via