Former Indian cricketers to be a part of T10 league in United Arab Emirates

Players like Zaheer Khan, RP Singh and Munaf Patel have signed with different franchises in the league.

Zaheer Khan | GETTY

Indian fans will get to see their favorite Indian cricketers again in action who have bid adieu to international cricket. Former Indian pacer Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, and Praveen Kumar are set to feature in the upcoming T10 league in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

There are eight teams in the league and they are divided into two groups. Zaheer will play for Bengal Tigers, while Praveen is part of Punjabi Legends. The T10 League will place at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 21 to December 2.

S Badrinath who was often seen playing for Chennai Super Kings in IPL will play for Maratha Arabians and Reetinder Singh Sodhi is in Kerala Kings' side. Kerala is also defending champions.

Rajputs have got Munaf in the draw and Pakhtoons went for RP Singh who was India's star bowler during World T20 2007. Pravin Tambe who made a name for himself during Indian Premier League is set to make his debut for Karachians in T10 league. 

Shaji Ul Mulk, chairman of T10 League, said, “The inclusion of some of the most prominent Indian cricketers in the T10 League, will help us to popularise the ten-over format cricket that concludes in 90 minutes.

“The forthcoming T10 League will demonstrate the games growing popularity and I am happy to see the way things are progressing so far. From a four-day event, the T10 League will now run for 12 days that will attract a larger audience at the stadium and beyond through the television channels.” 

The world's first 10-over league is played under the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB). Sony Pictures Networks is the official broadcasting partners in South Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa for three years.

Here are the eight teams, Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors, and Pakhtoons.  


By Sihyeu Singh - 06 Nov, 2018

    Share Via