BAN v ZIM 2018: Christopher Mpofu replaces Richard Ngarava in Zimbabwe's Test squad

Ngarava picked up a groin injury during the ODI series.

Richard Ngarava picked up a groin injury in the ODI series | Getty Images

Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) has been named Christopher Mpofu as a replacement for injured Richard Ngarava for the coming two-match Test series against Bangladesh, starting from November 3 in Sylhet.

Ngarava, the left-arm seamer has picked up a groin injury while bowling in the third and final One Day International in Chittagong between the two sides on Friday (October 26).

Zimbabwe team physiotherapist Anesu Mupotaringa told reporters on Sunday, “Ngarava sustained a groin injury and also complained of pain in the gluteal region after our last ODI. Even with aggressive treatment, he will not recover in time for the Test series.”

Walter Chawaguta, the Zimbabwe convener of selectors, said that the 20-year-old has worked hard on this Bangladesh tour as Ngarava was to make his Test debut but now he will have to wait longer.

Chawaguta further added, “Ngarava is part of our plan to deliberately inject youth into the team and he has worked hard on this tour, on the sidelines, readying himself for an opportunity to play. We had plans to possibly rotate our seamers and rest those who have played all matches since the tour of South Africa and this would have presented an opportunity for Ngarava.”

Meanwhile, Chawaguta is confident that the 15 Tests experience Mpofu brings to the table will be a massive boost to Zimbabwe's chances in the Test series against Bangladesh.

He signed off by saying, “Mpofu was with the team in the build-up to South Africa and, having toured Bangladesh before, he would know how to quickly adjust to conditions here. He is very experienced and would give us an opportunity to continue with our set plan of rotating our pace bowling department.”

Zimbabwe will kick off their Test tour of Bangladesh with a three-day practice match against Bangladesh A, starting from Monday at Chittagong's Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, while the Test series begins on November 3 in Sylhet followed by the second and final Test in Dhaka from November 11-15.

Zimbabwe Test Squad v Pakistan:

Hamilton Masakadza (C), Brian Chari, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Peter Moor, Regis Chakabva, Donald Tiripano, Kyle Jarvis, Brandon Mavuta, John Nyumbu, Wellington Masakadza, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Christopher Mpofu.

(Input: Cricbuzz)


By Rashmi Nanda - 29 Oct, 2018

    Share Via