AB de Villiers named among 12 marquee players for Mzansi Super League T20 draft

De Villiers had called time on his international career in May 2018.

AB de Villiers | Getty

Proteas batting maverick AB de Villiers, who stunned the cricketing fraternity by announcing a shock retirement from international cricket in May this year, has been named among 12 leading players for South Africa's new Super League Twenty20 tournament.

As per a report in AFP, six South African and as many overseas players have been named as marquee players for the event. In a bid to secure the services of these players, six teams will compete in a draft in Johannesburg on Wednesday (October 17).

Apart from De Villiers, other Proteas players to be involved in the T20 competition are – Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir. Among the overseas stars, Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy, Dawid Malan, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Rashid Khan are in the list.

"We have received applications from over 200 top international players who expressed interest in playing in this inaugural tournament and will have their names in the hat ahead of the player draft process," Cricket South Africa chief executive Thabang Moroe quoted as saying by AFP.

The names of six teams featuring in the tournament are – Cape Town Blitz, Durban Heat, Jozi Stars (Johannesburg), Nelson Mandela Bay Giants (Port Elizabeth), Paarl Rocks and Tshwane Spartans (Centurion).

The league, named after a colloquial term for South Africa, will run from 15 November to 16 December. South Africa's national broadcaster, SABC, has been granted the rights to televise the tournament.

(With AFP inputs)



By Salman Anjum - 16 Oct, 2018

    Share Via