Evin Lewis declines a central white-ball contract from Cricket West Indies

Lewis wants to play T20 leagues around the world.

Even Lewis | Getty

Having been offered a central white-ball contract by the Cricket West Indies(CWI) for the year 2018-19, Evin Lewis has declined it, wanting to continue featuring in the T20 leagues around the world whenever he wants, the board confirmed on Monday, October 1. 

Lewis, who had quickly made a name for himself in world cricket through some really explosive hitting at the top of the order, has now joined the list of top players from the region - Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine - to have declined a CWI contract over the years. 

Meanwhile, Test and ODI leader Jason Holder, batsman Shai Hope and pacers Kemar Roach and Alzarri Joseph have been contracted for all formats. Eight players have been rewarded with a red-ball contract but only three - Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse and Rovman Powell - with a white-ball one. 

Although the previous contracts expired on September 30, 2018, the new ones have been dated backwards to July 1, 2018, and will be running until June 30, 2019. The development took place so as to maintain a similar period of contracts for all players. 

"All Windies and Franchise players are now contracted from the 1st of July to the 30th of June, with their performances assessed from the 1st of April to the 31st of March," Johnny Grave, the board CEO was quoted saying, "This will allow for a more efficient process of reviewing, renewing and awarded contracts within West Indies professional cricket and give everyone at least three months to plan for the season ahead."

All-format retainers: Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Shai Hope and Kemar Roach

Red-ball retainers: Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer and Kieron Powell

White-ball retainers: Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse and Rovman Powell

Development retainers: Sunil Ambris, Keemo Paul and Raymon Reifer

Windies Women retainers: Merissa Aguilleira, Raniece Boyce, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Akeira Peters, Shakera Selman and Stafanie Taylor

(Inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Kashish Chadha - 02 Oct, 2018

    Share Via