Reward for Sam Curran as ECB gives him central contract

Curran was simply brilliant against India in the summer gone by.

Curran was awarded England's man of the series for his decisive all-round performance against India | Getty

All-rounder Sam Curran has been rewarded with a central red-ball contract by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) for his outstanding performance right throughout the summer gone by. 

Having made his debut against Pakistan earlier in the season, Curran made a magnificent contribution in either skill and went onto be one decisive differentiator between England and the visiting Indian side in three lions' 4-1 Pataudi series victory. 

The 20-year-old was later awarded the home team's man of the series title by Indian captain Virat Kohli and head coach Ravi Shastri. Curran made highly substantial 272 runs batting lower down the order and picked up crucial 11 wickets just when England needed them the most. 

Also, for their impressive performances, Jos Buttler and Adil Rashid have been lavished with both Test and white-ball contracts, and they join Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes in the list. 

Young fast bowler Tom Curran has been given an increment in his contract, which is provided to a player who isn't yet part of the Test team, but is expected to play regular white-ball cricket for the country. 

Test specialists and players playing all formats of the game are paid by the ECB and the limited overs specialists will receive a supplement in addition to their County salary. 10 Test contracts and 13 White-Ball contracts have been offered for a 12-month period beginning October 1, 2018.

Test Match contracts: Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

White-ball contracts: Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Liam Plunkett (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

(Inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Kashish Chadha - 29 Sep, 2018

    Share Via