BCCI recall Gagan Khoda, Jatin Paranjape into the senior selection committee

Earlier they were removed by the board after Lodha Committee recommendations.

Paranjape will comeback into the selection committee. (AFP)

After removing  Gagan Khoda and Jatin Paranjape from the senior selection committee on Lodha Committee's recommendation to trimming down the panel to only three members, BCCI has recalled the duo back into the frame of things. 

The duo along with MSK Prasad, Sarandeep Singh and Devang Gandhi will pick the Indian squad for the remaining two Test matches.  

This happened after the member units of the BCCI and the Amicus Curiae Gopal Subramanium declaring a need for five selectors. The Supreme Court accepted the request of restoring the strength of the senior, junior and women selection committees to five members with the senior most among them being named the Chairman.

The BCCI has also informed Anjali Pendharkar and Sudha Shah of their positions in the Indian selection committee being restored as well. The women’s selection committee will now consist of Hemlata Kala (chairperson), Shashi Gupta, Anjali Pendharkar, Lopamudra Banerjee and Sudha Shah.

They will pick the Indian team for the forthcoming ICC Women’s Championship against Sri Lanka, West Indies and the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in the West Indies.

Meanwhile, Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman will continue to head CAC which was confirmed by CoA Chief Vinod Rai on Monday (August 20). 

The BCCI has asked the panel to name a replacement for Venkatesh Prasad who resigned as Chairman of the junior selection committee in order to take up the position of a bowling coach with the Kings XI Punjab in the IPL.

(Inputs from SportStar Live)


By Anshuman Roy - 22 Aug, 2018

    Share Via