Madurai Panthers win 2018 TNPL title

Arun Karthik scored an unbeaten 75 to help Panthers win the title.

Arun Karthik en route to his unbeaten 75. (AFP)

Arun Karthik scored an unbeaten 75 to help Madurai Panthers win the 2018 edition of the TNPL.  Defending 117, Dragons' left-arm spinner M Silambarasan snapped up three in the first over, triggering hopes of a counterattack which very few had seen coming until then.

 Panthers were 2/3 at one stage - that it threatened to tilt the scale in Dragons' favour, albeit briefly. Karthik in his knock of 75* added a crucial partnership of 117 with Shijit Chandran (38*, 49b, 1x6, 3x4) as the duo carried Panthers past the finish line with 17 balls to spare.

Dindigul Dragons, put into bat lost early wickets.  Abhishekh Tanwar bowled opener Hari Nishanth (1, 2b) with one that seamed in a touch before Lokesh Raj got rid of Balchander Anirudh (4, 2b, 1x4) - wicket-keeper K.B. Arun Karthick flying to his left to snaffle a fine catch, first of the three to come his way.

Both Tanwar and Raj took 7 wickets together to leave the Dragons at 33 for 6 in the powerplay, which is the lowest score in TNPL history.  N Jagadheesan scored 51 to take the Dragons' score to some sort of responsibility as they eventually folded for a modest 117.

(Inputs from SportStar Live)


By Anshuman Roy - 13 Aug, 2018

    Share Via