SL vs SA 2018: Dinesh Chandimal returns for one-off T20I against SA

Chandimal missed the ongoing ODI series.

Dinesh Chandimal. (AP)
Sri Lankan Test skipper Dinesh Chandimal has made a return to the national squad for the one-off T20I against South Africa following his six-match ban due to his involvement in the ball tampering scandal in the Test series along with coach Chandika Haturusingh and manager Asanka Gurusinha. 

Left-arm seamer Binura Fernando, who last featured in two T20Is in 2015, has also been picked in the squad that will be led by Angelo Mathews. While Suranga Lakmal has made way for Binura, the selectors have also included Shehan Madushanka having dropped Niroshan Dickwella.

In another surprising inclusion, SL has called up  Jeffrey Vandersay, who was sent home on disciplinary grounds against Windies last year. Dimuth Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Dickwella and Kasun Rajitha have been named as standbys.

In the ongoing  ODI series, Sri Lanka have pulled one back by winning the fourth ODI which was a rail curtailed encounter. Putting up 306 on the board, Mathews and his men won the match by 6 runs via DL method. 

The fifth ODI will be played on Sunday (August 12) with the one-off T20I on Tuesday (August 14). 

Squad: Angelo Mathews (c), Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Shehan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dinesh Chandimal, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan, Binura Fernando

(Inputs from Cricbuzz)


By Anshuman Roy - 09 Aug, 2018

    Share Via